Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was a good recipe to work off. I made several changes to the recipe. I browned the onions first, added the meat to the onions with garlic and ginger. Once the meat was almost cooked I added green peas, corn, bell peppers and mushrooms to the meat. After a few minutes I added the nutmeg, sage, salt, red chili powder and some basil and parsley for taste. Once the meat and peas/corn was cooked, I added about 4-6 tablespoon of pasta sauce to give it some texture.Make sure you do not put too much to the point that it is saucy...add just enough so the meat is not so dry. Then add the mashed potatoes and bake in the oven with some cheese on top. When I made this dish I had several people over for dinner and they all went back for seconds and thirds. I hope all these ideas help you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Super! A minor change: I simmered the peas & corn along with carrots and mushrooms, herbs & spices in a can of beef broth for about 10 minutes, then used the liquid to make a gravy for the meat. Combined meat, gravy & veggies, poured into baking dish. Layered potatoes on top. Baked & then sprinkled with shredded cheddar. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Yummy! Just how Shepherd's pie is supposed to taste. I made 2 small changes 1>added beef broth, corn starch and water to beef after browned to make a gravy 2. sprinkled grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This recipe is wonderful. Used to have Shepard's pie all the time, but my family lost the recipe. The only thing I do different is I add a gravy made with 1pkg Onion soup mix, 1TBSP flour and 1-2 cups (depending on how soupy you want it) water, and pour that over the veggies and meat, before topping it with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
What a nice, homey kind of meal. Like the reviewer before me, I floured the browned meat, used onion soup mix, but replaced the water with a can of beef broth. The nutmeg and sage lend a nice addition. I happen to have fresh sage growing in my backyard, and it was put to good use in this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I did a combination of all the reviews added some garlic to the mashed potatoes, I took a pack of brown gravy mix a pack of onion soup mix and some water and flour and mixed it with the grease from my meat to make a gravy. Then I put cheese on some of it because cheese didnt seem like it would go well with this meal but definately liked the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good. I lived in Ireland for a year and this what shepherd's pie tastes like. I love the idea of the potatoes on the bottom very good. Just a reminder don't omit the spices esp the nutmeg it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Good but slightly bland. Could be given more flavor with some additions, including minced garlic, diced green bell peppers, and diced celery. Simmering after adding a half cup of inexpensive red wine can also give an added dimension to the flavor if you do not object to cooking with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I enjoyed this dish very much. There were some slight changes I made to suit our family. I used ground turkey instead, as we do not eat much red meat. I sauteed garlic with the onion in a little bit of olive oil with the paprika. For my herbs I used the ginger, chili powder, some sea salt and marjoram. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to the mixture. I then sauteed a frogen variety pkg of corn, green beans, peas and carrots. Added beef broth and flour. When I added the mashed potatoes, I put some French's french fried onions on top. Came out great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I've tried many different Shepherd's Pie recipes, all to which were alright but could never find one that I would make continuously. At least until now. My family loved this, and my incredibly picky son claimed how great it smelled while I was making it. My husband absolutely loved it, as did I. I was a bit nervous about the nutmeg but it was such a lovely addition. The only changes I made were that I added a little flour just to give the meat mixture a thicker consistency, I used green beans instead of peas for the simple fact I don't like peas, and put the potatoes on top with a bit of shredded cheese. This was the best Shepherd's Pie I've had. This will definitely be made in our house time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States