Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Excellent recipe!! My husband loved it! Altho, I did take one of the recommendations to add the onion soup mix w/ water and flour. I found that it was too liquidy. Maybe I should have added more flour? I will definitly make this again but not make any changes to the original recipe. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Really is not fair for me to rate this. I was looking for a base to make shepherds pie. It is one of my childhood favorites. This recipe has way too many onion, cut it down to one and cooked with the groung meat. I added garlic powder to the mashed potatoes. I used one CAN of corn and one of peas. I left out the nutmeg, sage, salt and pepper. I did as anthoer review suggested and mixed 1 package of onion soup mix with 1 can of beef broth and 1 tbs of flour. Poured that over the meat/veg layers before topping with the mashed potatoes. Turned out great. My daughter ate it even though she HATES mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This was great comfort food! I needed a recipe o utilize leftovers, and I wanted something different from my mother-in-law's shepherd's pie. I scaled the recipe to 4 servings, but kept the herb and spice amounts the same, and the potatoes. I added a pinch of sugar and salt, to carmelize the onions. I added a bit of leftover ribeye steak after browning the ground beef, and as some other reviewer suggested, chili powder, about a half teaspoon. This is definitely in my list of recipes for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
It got raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was a good recipe to work off. I made several changes to the recipe. I browned the onions first, added the meat to the onions with garlic and ginger. Once the meat was almost cooked I added green peas, corn, bell peppers and mushrooms to the meat. After a few minutes I added the nutmeg, sage, salt, red chili powder and some basil and parsley for taste. Once the meat and peas/corn was cooked, I added about 4-6 tablespoon of pasta sauce to give it some texture.Make sure you do not put too much to the point that it is saucy...add just enough so the meat is not so dry. Then add the mashed potatoes and bake in the oven with some cheese on top. When I made this dish I had several people over for dinner and they all went back for seconds and thirds. I hope all these ideas help you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Very good recipe. Everyone liked it. I did as the other reviewers and added onion soup mix and water. My daughter requested more fluffier potatoes and my sons requested more ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Not really impressed. Needed something to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
Great shepherd's pie. I'd serve with some brown gravy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
What a nice, homey kind of meal. Like the reviewer before me, I floured the browned meat, used onion soup mix, but replaced the water with a can of beef broth. The nutmeg and sage lend a nice addition. I happen to have fresh sage growing in my backyard, and it was put to good use in this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This recipe is wonderful. Used to have Shepard's pie all the time, but my family lost the recipe. The only thing I do different is I add a gravy made with 1pkg Onion soup mix, 1TBSP flour and 1-2 cups (depending on how soupy you want it) water, and pour that over the veggies and meat, before topping it with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States