Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The nutmeg added a touch of flavor that really made the pie taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this recipe as is. I was a little skeptical about the nutmeg but was glad I followed the recipe and didn't improvise because the taste was wonderful. A great comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My family liked this a lot. I will make it again. I did use a can of beef broth and poured about 1/2 the can over the mixture before topping with the mashed potatoes. Also, I mixed all the vegies with the meat and added fresh corn from the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I made half the recipe to produce two individual (rather large) crocks. I'm not sure how the original recipe would feed 16! I added 2T onion and 1 clove garlic to the ground beef. I added about 1 teaspoon each nutmeg, sage, salt, pepper. I thought that it still needed more sage. I used leftover mashed potatoes for convenience. Overall a very good recipe. Next time I will use ground lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
not bad, but too much work for not enough flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Good starting recipe. Kind of bland. After making this recipe a few times I decided to change a few things so people didn't have to use so much ketchup to make it taste better. I added more potatoes, more butter, and a can of beef gravy. It makes it creamier and gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I thought this was way too onion-y and I only used 2 onions instead of the 3. My husband loved it, but I didn't think it was that good. We will try other recipes. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I enjoyed this dish very much. There were some slight changes I made to suit our family. I used ground turkey instead, as we do not eat much red meat. I sauteed garlic with the onion in a little bit of olive oil with the paprika. For my herbs I used the ginger, chili powder, some sea salt and marjoram. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to the mixture. I then sauteed a frogen variety pkg of corn, green beans, peas and carrots. Added beef broth and flour. When I added the mashed potatoes, I put some French's french fried onions on top. Came out great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Turned out yummy thanks to previous reviews that suggested making a gravy and adding garlic and ginger to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I did a combination of all the reviews added some garlic to the mashed potatoes, I took a pack of brown gravy mix a pack of onion soup mix and some water and flour and mixed it with the grease from my meat to make a gravy. Then I put cheese on some of it because cheese didnt seem like it would go well with this meal but definately liked the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States