Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was really good, in fact my husband said it was probably the best shepherd pie he's ever had. I didn't layer the meat and veggies (peas, corn, onions, mushrooms and green beans,) rather mixed them all up and sauteed them, but that was pretty much the only thing I did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYFRO97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We just finished dinner and my husband said this is definitely a recipe to put in rotation ... probably during our Texas winters as the dish retains its heat very well! We like savory/aromatic/spicier food so I tweaked this toward our taste but appreciate a very good basic recipe to build upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I've tried many different Shepherd's Pie recipes, all to which were alright but could never find one that I would make continuously. At least until now. My family loved this, and my incredibly picky son claimed how great it smelled while I was making it. My husband absolutely loved it, as did I. I was a bit nervous about the nutmeg but it was such a lovely addition. The only changes I made were that I added a little flour just to give the meat mixture a thicker consistency, I used green beans instead of peas for the simple fact I don't like peas, and put the potatoes on top with a bit of shredded cheese. This was the best Shepherd's Pie I've had. This will definitely be made in our house time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've tried shepard's pie recipes before and have been horribly dissapointed, but this was great. Not only did my house smell great while cooking, but even the picky eaters of my family came back for seconds. I did add a little cheese on top, and the next time I make it I will add some seasoning directly to the potatoes on the top layer (the main complaint of the house was they were too bland), but this is definitely going in the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My absolute favourite recipe for Shepherd's Pie.. I've been making it like this for years, and my family absolutely loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is a great shepherd's pie, and I've made it quite a few times. Today, I made it with ground turkey instead of ground beef, and it is even better! Healthier, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Absolutely yummy! I, too, was very skeptical about the nutmeg and the sage but they made all of the difference. This was the only dish that my college roomate could make and I haven't had it in 30 years! What a pleasant surprise...this will become a "regular" for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I've made this a couple times now. It's a good base recipe. I add lots of sage. And last time, it was really good when I added a layer of cheese on top of the beef when assembling the casserole. It's too dry otherwise. It would probably be good with some brown gravy instead of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Good but slightly bland. Could be given more flavor with some additions, including minced garlic, diced green bell peppers, and diced celery. Simmering after adding a half cup of inexpensive red wine can also give an added dimension to the flavor if you do not object to cooking with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
To make it simpler, you can use instant potatoes. Also, instead of peas, I put in green beans (just for something different). And, the best tip...add a little shredded Chedder on during the last five minutes of so...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States