Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is a keeper--excellent recipe. I made a couple of additions: 1) Used 2 14oz cans of Mexican style stewed tomatos in the ground beef mixture. 2) Followed my husband's suggestion and added a packet of Taco seasoning to ground beef/tomato/onion mixture. 3) Added about 1/2 cup low-fat sour cream to instant potatoes to make them creamier. Wow!! A Sheperd's Pie with a Mexican kick to it!! This is going to be a regular at our house!! Next time, instead of topping with plain cheddar, I'm going to use the Mexican mixture (cheddar, monterrey jack cheeses). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this with a few adjustments, and I absolutely loved it - husband and one year old did too. I added about a half cup fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions. I omitted the crushed tomatoes. After adding the beef I seasoned it with salt pepper and basil. After it was fully cooked and drained of oil I added a flour mixture to thicken it up (1 cup water mixed with 2 Tbsp. flour) and let that come to a boil. I then mixed in a bit of the cheddar cheese with the meat/mushroom/onion mixture and let it melt. I scooped the mixture into a 9" pie shell and topped with corn and the mashed potatoes (roasted garlic flavor). Topped with the rest of the cheese and some Italian breadcrumbs and baked at 375 for 30 min. So basically I used this recipe in conjunction with another recipe I had for Cheeseburger Pie, and the two combined to make one terrific one-dish dinner. Its so delicious I think I'm gonna go heat more up now. Yummm!!! This recipe with my changes will be my permanent recipe for shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Although this is a "Cottage Pie" & not shepherds pie (which has ground lamb instead)which many people mistake it for, including me. It is still one of my favourite meals, i add worcestershire sauce or HP sauce (i'm English) and a nice flavoursome brown gravy to the recipe. with freshly mashed potatoes & sliced tomatoes under the cheese....it is still a delicious meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Shepards Pie is made with minced lamb. Cottage Pie is made with ground beef. Incorrectly, this has recipe has been presented as the famous minced lamb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Great recipe! This was delicious! I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added a can of corn (drained) and a bit of frozen peas and carrots while waiting for the liquid from the tomatoes to evaporate. After reading other reviews, I think next time (and there definitely will be a next time) I will try it with green beans and mushrooms. Thank you for sharing such your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Yikes, this was pretty gross.. I made it exactly how I was supposed to, the mashed potatoes made it edible for dinner, but definitely no seconds and no leftovers from this meal. Its still in the fridge and my husband makes fun of me asking if i will put it in his lunch. YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This is a very good recipe but I changed a few things. First off, it will be MUCH better with peeled and diced tomatoes instead of crushed. You end up with a Sloppy Joe consistency using the crushed tomatoes. Plus, I would definitely brown my beef and then drain off the excess fat before adding the onions. I added a can of green beans, a can of mushrooms and a can of corn (all drained first). Now that is some good stuff! My whole family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Talk about comfort food! Great winter time meal. My variations: add frozen peas and carrots atop the meat mixture before adding mashed potatoes. Also, add a couple tablespoons of sour cream to the instant potatoes to give a little more flavor. I also made this with shredded chicken breast, which was good, but not comparable to the beef. Another tip: I didn't use but about half of the tomatoes, but that is a matter of taste! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This tasted great, and we liked it even better the next day. I made exactly as described and won't be changing anything next time. I served peas on the side. It passed the 2-year-old test. Can you get any easier or less expensive than this!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Shepards pie is true comfort food. I usually use my Thanksgiving, roast chicken or potroast leftovers to make my pie. I layer my meat, gravy, any vegies and top with mashed potatoes and grated cheese. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States