Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
As a Scot myself I must say this is not Shephard's Pie This is cottage Pie as cottage pie is made with beef and shephards pie is made with lamb- hance the name 'shephard'- The carer of sheep- similar pie but different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I have 2 teenagers that are vegatarians, so finding good meals can be tricky. I used the soy/protein ground non-meat in this recipe. The pie is easy to make, and keeps well. The kids enjoyed it for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I love Shepherds pie and this turned out great. I had to bake it a little longer than it said to get the cheese to brown up a little on top. This one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I'm not a big fan of shepherd's pie, but this was good. I added some green beans and corn to mix and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This pie is good. I made few changes. I sautee`d 2 cloves of garlic with the onions. I also used hot chilli sauce W'shire sauce and a pinch of oregano with the beef, while cooking. I used homemade mashed potatoes.. I have used the garlic mashed potatoes (recipe from this site) and the it goes together wonderfully. It was a good pie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I added green beans and mushrooms between the beef mixture and mashed potatoes. My husband and boys loved this, but I did not enjoy the flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I added 1/2 a bag of frozen mixed veggies and used Bob Evans mashed potatos and it was great! The only reason I didn't rate a 5 was I think if you stick to the original recipe on this it would be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I make it somewhat similar but I add a can of Tomatoes to give it a little more and I add two stock cubes to the meat and onions as they are frying. I also use real spuds since that I think makes a real difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this with a few adjustments, and I absolutely loved it - husband and one year old did too. I added about a half cup fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions. I omitted the crushed tomatoes. After adding the beef I seasoned it with salt pepper and basil. After it was fully cooked and drained of oil I added a flour mixture to thicken it up (1 cup water mixed with 2 Tbsp. flour) and let that come to a boil. I then mixed in a bit of the cheddar cheese with the meat/mushroom/onion mixture and let it melt. I scooped the mixture into a 9" pie shell and topped with corn and the mashed potatoes (roasted garlic flavor). Topped with the rest of the cheese and some Italian breadcrumbs and baked at 375 for 30 min. So basically I used this recipe in conjunction with another recipe I had for Cheeseburger Pie, and the two combined to make one terrific one-dish dinner. Its so delicious I think I'm gonna go heat more up now. Yummm!!! This recipe with my changes will be my permanent recipe for shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out great with a few adjustments. I added canned mushrooms, 1 whole can of tomato paste, extra salt and pepper,Italian season and garlic powder. I also used instant potatoes(it was a lot faster and cleaner). We loved this and will be making it agian! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States