Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We loved this. I did make a few little changes: added some fresh garlic and diced carrotts to the meat. And I layered the potatoes on the bottom. Also added some seasonings black pepper, garlic, pinch of curry and a little chilli powder. I also did not use the full cup of cheese. Hubby ate half the pie in one sitting it was so good lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Made this at Christmas eve eve and it was really good. I made the recipe as wrote - exactly. Next time though - I am going to put a few spashes of worcestershire, and red wine along with a few dices (finely) carrots in it. This is a good base to work with though - I truly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is really good. I made a few changes though... I used stewed tomatoes and added a can of mixed veggies. I also added sour cream to the potatoes. I think next time I will use real mashed potatoes instead of instant, they taste better! My kids loved this dish and ate it for days afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good and simple. Made with real mashed potatoes though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
LOVE this recipe. I used diced tomatoes also after reading all the reviews. Delish. I also added some frozen vegetables and some sour cream to the potatoes to make them creamier. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
this is cottage pie, not shepherd's pie, shepherd's pie has minced lamb. is much better if proper potatoes are used. i put beans and mushrooms in mine too and no tomatoes. i guess this is really the English version of meatloaf , we all have our own recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was pretty good, but not quite out of this world delicious. Leftovers were definitely better than the first night. I did add a can of corn under the potato layer, added a dollop of sour cream to the mashed potatoes, and added about a tablespoon of worcestire sauce to the meat mixture, all suggestions I took from many other reviews and I think they were all good additions. I will likely make this again, but I will probably try a different Shepherd's Pie recipe just for comparison next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I took some reviewers advice and added more spices; garlic, worcestshire sauce, a couple dashes of hot sauce, pepper, and sage. I also used stew meat which I simmered until tender and added the tomatoes and onions to my water when the meat was almost done, skipping the oil. Some mixed veggies helped make this a well rounded meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States