Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Best Shepherd Pie recipe I've found, yet! Go easy on the gravy or you'll have a "goopy mess" - I used 2 jars and it was plenty. And, for those like me who use instant potatoes, I'd advise making them a little runny, or you won't be able to spread them - the extra liquid will "cook out".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is just good old down home cookin’ comfort food. Shepherd’s Pie always sounded rather bland and unappealing to me. Why is it called “pie”? It’s more like a casserole. This was really yummy. Much better than I had expected. The recipe is very versatile. Use what you have. I used 2 envelopes of brown gravy. It was plenty. I used a can of French green beans and pre-cooked my frozen corn. I made real mashed potatoes. I only made this with 1 lb. of ground beef. This made plenty. I added a dash of garlic salt (this adds to the flavor a LOT!) and plenty of salt and pepper. For cheese I had a bizarre mélange of leftover Swiss, Colby-jack , sharp cheddar, American and a bit of pungent Fontina. Instead of shredding it all on top I made a cheese sauce out of it all by melting it in the microwave with some butter and a little milk. I blended it all together then spread it over the potatoes. Doing with what I had, cooking the corn, making the potatoes, making the gravy and cheese sauce, increased the prep time considerably. I made this in the afternoon to bake that evening. Couldn’t wait to try the leftovers for lunch..delicious! I welcome different ways to use ground beef. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great Recipe!! Everyone loved it! I put some refrigerated biscuits in the bottom of the casserole as a crust. I too only used 2 cups of gravy and that was more than enough to keep it moist. The only other change I made was to layer shredded cheese on top of the meat mixture, then a layer of french fried onion rings, and then home-made mashed potatoes!!! It was a hit! This will definitely be a new regular in our home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was the best shepherds pie that I've ever made... I also only used 2 cans of gravy and 1 lb of beef, and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This recipe is awesome. My boyfriend just told me to "give that lady some stars"! I substituted one can of cream of mushroom soup for one of the cans of gravy and used sharp cheddar in lieu of american cheese. Also, the store was out of the instant potatoes in the bag, so I used boxed instant (Hungry Jack) and doubled the 6 serving instructions which came out to just the right amount. This is the 1st time I have ever made this and it turned out great. I have already been informed that I will be making it much more often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I thought this was a tasty, stick to your ribs dish. I used frozen corn, (which I cooked prior to adding), real mashed potatoes, and shredded mild chedder. I also reduced brown gravy to two packets, which was PLENTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was very good, I omitted the beans as most of the family doesn't like them, I only used 2 cans of gravy...I can't imagine using 4, it would be way too soupy, and I used shredded co-jack on top. We all liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very good... The whole family loved it and that’s very rare with my finicky bunch. I did make a few changes however. I added a few fresh mushrooms when I returned the ground beef to the pan. I also used 2 powdered gravy packages instead of the canned gravy. The yield on this recipe is more like 12 instead of 6, so I made 2 pans one to freeze. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
THIS IS A GREAT AND EASY RECIPE! WE LOVED IT AND IT IS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY FOR LUNCH (IF THERE ARE ANY LEFTOVERS). I DID MAKE A COUPLE OF CHANGES - I USED ONLY ONE CAN OF BROWN GRAVY AND A CAN OF CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP AND I ADDED A LITTLE ONION SALT. I 'M CERTAIN THAT I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
It was good but 4 cans of gravy were wayyyyy too much, it made it really soupy. Try 2 cans instead. Also, if I were to make it again, I would use shredded cheddar cheese instead of the american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States