Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
My whole family likes this and it's so easy to make. I personally use real mashed potatoes and only corn. When I didn't have brown gravy to use I made my own from 1-2 cans of beef broth. I also use more cheese, my family loves it real cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
My family really enjoyed this dish. I doubled the mashed potatoes and used a larger casserole dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
A crowd-pleaser! I used regular mashed potatoes instead of flakes and substituted Veg-All for the carrots and green beans since that's what I had on-hand. Picky children, hungry hubby and friend who stopped by for dinner all loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
My family loved this recipe! The only thing I did different was... I used only 2 cans of gravy and I used munster cheese instead of american. Yummy!! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Great comfort food. So easy to make and perfect for the winter months. I buy some canned Boston Chicken beef gravy and serve it warm over the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a lovely twist for sheppards pie lovers. I made it with real mashed potatoes and mixed in some mashed sweet potatoes too. It was an absolute hit. Hint, put lots and lots of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This recipe is awesome. My boyfriend just told me to "give that lady some stars"! I substituted one can of cream of mushroom soup for one of the cans of gravy and used sharp cheddar in lieu of american cheese. Also, the store was out of the instant potatoes in the bag, so I used boxed instant (Hungry Jack) and doubled the 6 serving instructions which came out to just the right amount. This is the 1st time I have ever made this and it turned out great. I have already been informed that I will be making it much more often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
My family thought this recipe was o.k. I would make it again, but not use so much gravy. I thought it was too runny. Other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
My family thought this casserole was okay, but not exceptional. I reduced the cans of gravy to two and it was still plenty soupy. I prefer my old recipe which uses a sauce made of 2 cans (8 oz. ea.) tomato sauce, 4 tbls. each of brown sugar, mustard and vinegar, plus some added water, instead of beef gravy. You put garlic in the mashed potatoes plus stir in a beaten egg into the potatoes before piling them on top and topping with plenty of cheese. It may be that we are just more accustomed to the "sweet & sour" tomato taste and it is challenging to develop new tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Alterations: Used 2 packs of country gravy mix instead of 4 cans of prepared. Used Ground Turkey instead of Ground Beef. Used cheddar instead of sliced cheese. This was a delicious, hearty meal that both I and my boyfriend loved. He cleared his plate, the highest honor a recipe could have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States