Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was really good. It went together quickly and more importantly it filled my two teenage sons who are usually bottomless pits! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinilipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pateros, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Like the others I tweaked it a little to better fit our taste. A little less than 2lbs of meat, 2 packets of potatoes (1 just wasn't enough! I used Betty Crocker's Roasted Garlic flavor...soo tasty!), 2 packets of gravy (I can't imagine using more than that) and used shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese to top it off. We will definitely be having this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Pretty good and Very Filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe was a little bland ... I would add some more favor with garlic powder, season salt, and worcestershire sauce in with the beef while it's cooking in the skillet. Other then that, this is the basic shephard's pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
So dish came out so delicious and hearty & plenty leftovers for the next day. Everyone licked the plate!! I twisted it to my pleasing: used ground turkey breast (seasoned with "all purpose seasoning"-spanish seasoning & puertorican "sofrito" & some tomato sauce to incorporate all flavors), used frozen mixed vegetables and shredded cheddar cheese. Layered it like a lasagna starting with the mashed potatoes, meat, veggies, cheese and then another layer all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is one of the first recipes in a long time that my husband hasn't turned his nose up at, and our not quite 2 year old practically licked his plate clean. I halved the recipe, and used leftover mashed potatoes. I also added some sliced mushrooms, and used a packet of beef gravy mix and a packet of mushroom gravy mix. I love how versatile this recipe is, thanks for getting my hubby to eat something besides grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Really good. My son is a picky eater and I usually only cook with basic ingredients so this works. Here are the changes I make: 3 (7.6)oz potatoe flakes 1 can carrots instead of corn 3 (10.5)oz of powdered gravy packets (do not like canned gravy) topped with sharp shredded cheddar Also, next time I am going to add mushrooms!!YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
i made this yesterday and i will say this needs seasoning instead of salt i used garlic salt,pepper, and onion powder while cooking and browning my meat with the onions. i agree with everyone you do need to go easy on the gravy. i used a gravy packed mixed and used half of that. i also used instant mash potatoes and well i didn't have shredded cheese but kraft single's worked just as good. other than to much gravy and not enough seasoning it turned out good after making some adjustments. leftover are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I volunteer at a ministry, and this dish was made to feed about 17 homeless members. They absolutely LOVED it. I chose the recipe because it had the fewest ingredients of others I had found. I changed the recipe to serve 20, and it expands well. As per the reviews, I only used half the amount of gravy, which was perfect. I also tried the meat mixture before putting it in a pan and found it was not as flvorful as I wanted, so I added some salt and pepper until it was where I wanted it. After baking, I did not like the look of the cheese slices, so I sprinkled a LOT of shredded cheese over that, and it melted down in time and looked much better. I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this last night for my family, and they LOVED it! Thanks for sharing this hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Firehouse Shepherd's Pie

Watch the firefighters of New City prepare shepherd’s pie for the crew.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States