Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made only one change and that was use fat free Cream of Mushroom soup instead of gravy. This was a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
absolutley loved it. the only difference is i made the brown gravy from the packets instead of from the can (the cans would have been much easier, but i tend to do things the hard way) the meat was moist and perfect not dried out at all. and it was the weirdest thing, my boyfriend was stuffed after only one plate. a first for him! it is something to make for a crowd. and definatley something ill make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I finally made this the other night with everyone in the family (but the youngest one) saying it was delicious! Thank you for a simple meal that tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
stupid question - you are spreading already done mashed potatoes on top, not just flakes, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made my own gravy and used extra sharp cheese in the place of American. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good and easy. I made a couple of minor adjustments. I used one pound of ground beef and used real mashed potatoes instead of flakes because we like real mashed potatoes better, but I understand that flakes are a time saver for some. Also, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the gravy. One can was plenty because I only used 1 lb. of ground beef. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce for added flavor. This helped! The taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is just a quick and easy meal that tastes great. I replaced the American cheese with shredded cheddar, added mushrooms, made a little extra potatoes and cut the gravy in half. Made it for my monthly meal that I cook for a homeless shelter and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made this for a gift for grandparents this year. I added red pepper, garlic, celery, chopped fresh mushrooms and some worchestershire sauce (not a lot). Used frozen corn and peas, the 10 bag size. I cooked the onion/garlic/pepper and meat in my cast iron skillet, then moved it over to a large stainless steel pot to add the frozen vegs... I don't know how much this would make in a traditional sense, but it made 13 "pot pie" sized aluminum tins that I got at the grocery store. I froze them un-baked and will add baking directions later when the time comes. Seems like something that the older generation will like - and may make it again for us young folk, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was really good. It went together quickly and more importantly it filled my two teenage sons who are usually bottomless pits! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinilipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pateros, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Like the others I tweaked it a little to better fit our taste. A little less than 2lbs of meat, 2 packets of potatoes (1 just wasn't enough! I used Betty Crocker's Roasted Garlic flavor...soo tasty!), 2 packets of gravy (I can't imagine using more than that) and used shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese to top it off. We will definitely be having this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States