Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was the best shepherds pie that I've ever made... I also only used 2 cans of gravy and 1 lb of beef, and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I used two ready made pie crusts in 9" deep pie dishes instead of the 9x13 baking dish to help it hold together for serving. It definitely was a hearty meal! Very tasty. As I am only cooking for two, next time I will cut the recipe in half - just enough to make 1 deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is just good old down home cookin’ comfort food. Shepherd’s Pie always sounded rather bland and unappealing to me. Why is it called “pie”? It’s more like a casserole. This was really yummy. Much better than I had expected. The recipe is very versatile. Use what you have. I used 2 envelopes of brown gravy. It was plenty. I used a can of French green beans and pre-cooked my frozen corn. I made real mashed potatoes. I only made this with 1 lb. of ground beef. This made plenty. I added a dash of garlic salt (this adds to the flavor a LOT!) and plenty of salt and pepper. For cheese I had a bizarre mélange of leftover Swiss, Colby-jack , sharp cheddar, American and a bit of pungent Fontina. Instead of shredding it all on top I made a cheese sauce out of it all by melting it in the microwave with some butter and a little milk. I blended it all together then spread it over the potatoes. Doing with what I had, cooking the corn, making the potatoes, making the gravy and cheese sauce, increased the prep time considerably. I made this in the afternoon to bake that evening. Couldn’t wait to try the leftovers for lunch..delicious! I welcome different ways to use ground beef. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was really good. I made my own mashed potatoes and used 3 cans of gravy because 4 just seemed like too much, and it turned out great. I also sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top instead of American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yummy! I used three cans of vegetables with three cups of brown gravy and it came out perfect. This recipe created one 9x9 dish and one 9x13 dish for me and I wished I had doubled the mashed potatoes. Will make often in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was very good. I only used three cans of gravy, omitted the onions (don't like them) and used homemade mashed potatoes. I also left out the cheese as it isn't traditional. Otherwise it was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OreoCookies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Harrison Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Fairly good meal. Doesnt taste quite like the one i had in the resturant though. My husband did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good. I only used 2 cans of gravy (all I had), and it was good. I wouldn't have used anymore even if I had it. I think it would have been too soupy. Overall, this was good and enjoyed by everyone in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
We really enjoyed having this for dinner. I tweaked it a bit (like I do most recipes) by adding different extra veggies, and I didn't have any beef gravy so I used chicken gravy with a little worcestershire sauce for a more beefy color, and only made 2 packets instead of 4 cans of beef. It came out very yummy and was a real stick to your ribs meal. Definitely a comfort food when served with hot rolls and a green salad. Family is telling me to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very good... The whole family loved it and that’s very rare with my finicky bunch. I did make a few changes however. I added a few fresh mushrooms when I returned the ground beef to the pan. I also used 2 powdered gravy packages instead of the canned gravy. The yield on this recipe is more like 12 instead of 6, so I made 2 pans one to freeze. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Firehouse Shepherd's Pie

Watch the firefighters of New City prepare shepherd’s pie for the crew.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States