Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Way too much gravy and shredded cheddar cheese would have had more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Great recipe! 2 cans of gravy is plenty and so is 2 lbs of meat so I added some baby carrots and asparagus with shredded sharp cheddar on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was very tasty. I cut this in half for only 1 lb. of beef and used dry packaged gravy mix that made 2 cups. I used a frozen peas and carrots blend and some frozen corn instead of green beans. I did add a dab of minced garlic and some kosher salt to the beef during cooking and about 1/2 tsp. Kitchen bouquet to the gravy. I only had a quarter of a Texas sweet onion. The family liked this and like my hubby said you just can't go wrong with meat and potatoes and gravy, so it was a real man pleaser. Thanks Auntrene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was a very good Shephard's Pie. I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception that I used homemade mashed potatoes. Also, after reading the reviews, I cut the gravy down to a little bit less than 2 jars. I shared with some coworkers and they LOVED it. Will def be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I do not give 5 Stars, but I must with this one. The only thing I did was to add potato flakes to thicken the liquid. I also added just a little finely grated sharp Cheddar Cheese to the hot potatoes. Everything else was as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this over the weekend. It was awesome. I added in a can of mushrooms, but next time I think 1 can less gravy it was a little too soupy the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
DO NOT USE 4 CANS OF GRAVY WAY TOO SOUPY. ONLY USE 2 CANS. VERY GOOD THO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Awesome! My family couldn't get enough!! We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am not a fan of Shepherd's pie, but sought a recipe because my husband, who is fussy, likes it. This recipe was GREAT! It was simple and tasty and even "I" liked it! I took the advice of others and only used 2 cans of gravy. I also drained at least 1/2 of the fat while cooking the meat because Shepherd's pie tends to be greasy. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this was soooo good. I made this last sunday night. I substitute the whole kernel corn with cream style corn, and the beans with blanched frozen peas. I couldnt find canned brown gravy so I used a package of Au Jus Gravy and a package of cream of mushroom soup. I mistakenly added 5 cups of water and had to simmer the gravy for more than an hour to reduce the water in it. I also used real mashed potato from Nigella Lawson's show and hide the cheese between the layers of the mashed potato. Couldnt finish it in one night, so I refrigerate and only had the time to finish it last night. my partner licked his plate clean. Somehow, i think that this gets better overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States