Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very good... The whole family loved it and that’s very rare with my finicky bunch. I did make a few changes however. I added a few fresh mushrooms when I returned the ground beef to the pan. I also used 2 powdered gravy packages instead of the canned gravy. The yield on this recipe is more like 12 instead of 6, so I made 2 pans one to freeze. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This recipe is awesome. My boyfriend just told me to "give that lady some stars"! I substituted one can of cream of mushroom soup for one of the cans of gravy and used sharp cheddar in lieu of american cheese. Also, the store was out of the instant potatoes in the bag, so I used boxed instant (Hungry Jack) and doubled the 6 serving instructions which came out to just the right amount. This is the 1st time I have ever made this and it turned out great. I have already been informed that I will be making it much more often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
My whole family likes this and it's so easy to make. I personally use real mashed potatoes and only corn. When I didn't have brown gravy to use I made my own from 1-2 cans of beef broth. I also use more cheese, my family loves it real cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
My family really enjoyed this dish. I doubled the mashed potatoes and used a larger casserole dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
My family loved this recipe! The only thing I did different was... I used only 2 cans of gravy and I used munster cheese instead of american. Yummy!! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Great comfort food. So easy to make and perfect for the winter months. I buy some canned Boston Chicken beef gravy and serve it warm over the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a lovely twist for sheppards pie lovers. I made it with real mashed potatoes and mixed in some mashed sweet potatoes too. It was an absolute hit. Hint, put lots and lots of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
My version of this turned out spectacularly. I added a bit of garlic and some nutmeg, paprika, and sage (per Shepherd's Pie II) for flavor (yum!). I also beefed up (hehe) the ground beef mixture with 8 oz mushrooms and 1 sliced zucchini. For the gravy, I used 30 oz, part brown and part mushroom, which was more than enough. For the mashed potatoes, I used three envelopes of garlic mashed potatoes (1 1/2 boxes), which seemed the perfect amount. I also used shredded cheddar cheese. One warning: even ignoring the fact that I added some additional ingredients, I'm not quite how this is six servings. Mine ended up being more like 10 or 11, and we are not skimpy eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
THIS IS A GREAT AND EASY RECIPE! WE LOVED IT AND IT IS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY FOR LUNCH (IF THERE ARE ANY LEFTOVERS). I DID MAKE A COUPLE OF CHANGES - I USED ONLY ONE CAN OF BROWN GRAVY AND A CAN OF CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP AND I ADDED A LITTLE ONION SALT. I 'M CERTAIN THAT I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yummy! I used three cans of vegetables with three cups of brown gravy and it came out perfect. This recipe created one 9x9 dish and one 9x13 dish for me and I wished I had doubled the mashed potatoes. Will make often in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States