Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Good! Spicy variation: Left out the gravy, and added 1 sm. can chopped jalapenos, and used real mashed potatoes. Topped meat and veggies w/ shredded sharp cheddar, and topped potatoes with pepper-jack slices. awesome! (1 lb. ground beef was adequate we thought). Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Photo by oldsingledad
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was a real good down home filling recipe. I made half the amount because only 2 of us to eat it. Only had 1 can of gravy so made 1 cup beef broth. Added some garlic. Used real mashed potatoes and shredded sharp cheddar. used peas and corn. It did seem a bit soupy so I simmered a bit and added some wondra gravy flour and it was fine. I couldn't imagine using instant potatoes. Or american cheese but that's just us.. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I'm a college student and this recipe is very forgiving. I dont cook, but me and my friends loved making this recipe in our small kitchen. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants an easy meal. Also, we found that we only needed to add 2 cans of gravy rather than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was very tasty!... I will make it again! I used shredded cheese that I had on hand putting some on top of the meat mixture then some over the potatoes; I also followed tips and used only 2 cans of gravy... It was still a bit saucy. I added sliced mushrooms and substituted peas for green beans, using only 1/2 can of each peas/corn. A tip of advice I would give is use thick mashed potatoes!.. Then most importantly, you need some biscuits to get every bit off your plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Sooo good! I only made a couple of changes: I didn't add the green beans, I made real mashed potatoes, and I shredded cheddar cheese on top. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This meal was WONDERFUL for our family. I used country crock's mashed potatoes (in the deli section) and it was good. I should have spread the potatoes out more, but it was delicious. My kids liked the pie with ketchup on it, as did my husband. It was a family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paigerocks
Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I loved it. I did make some changes though. First of all, I don't buy canned vegetables, so i added two cups of frozen mixed vegetables. I browned the hamburg meat and onion, and for the gravy I thickened a can of beef broth, that was plenty. I also boiled and mashed 4 potatoes. I put all ingredients in a round casserole dish, and topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. This was the perfect meal for a cold night. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This recipe was a great base to start with. Used only 1 lb. of elk burger, real mashed potatoes, small can of mushroom gravy, frozen mixed vegetables and shredded cheddar. Had to spice it up with some Tony Chachere's, sage and garlic. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cascade, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
It was good but 4 cans of gravy were wayyyyy too much, it made it really soupy. Try 2 cans instead. Also, if I were to make it again, I would use shredded cheddar cheese instead of the american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Good!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States