Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I just used two jars of gravy and i think it was plenty. I this four may be too much for this. But it was a very nice way of sneaking in the veggies for a two year old who would rather not eat them. I used shredded cheese rather than slice and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesticaAndKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
A bit bland, but easy and good. I used real potatos, ground turkey instead of beef, and 2 c gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great Recipe! I made this for my husband whose favorite food is shepherd's pie and he said it was the best he's ever had. The only change I made was to use shredded cheese on top instead of sliced cheese. I also served it over open face Hawaiian Rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great Recipe!! Everyone loved it! I put some refrigerated biscuits in the bottom of the casserole as a crust. I too only used 2 cups of gravy and that was more than enough to keep it moist. The only other change I made was to layer shredded cheese on top of the meat mixture, then a layer of french fried onion rings, and then home-made mashed potatoes!!! It was a hit! This will definitely be a new regular in our home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Very tasty meal. My husband and I love this version of Shepherd's Pie. The only thing I added was more seasonings to the meat (season salt and garlic powder). I also spread shreaded cheddar cheese and French fried onions on top of the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is a quick and easy meal and it tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Good standard meal. Needed a bit more flavor but it all went with no major complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Very good!!!! My husband and 3yr old son loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
GOod basic recipe. I used actual mashed potatoes (about 6 medium sized Russets) that were mashed with salt, pepper, butter, roasted garlic and a dallop of sour cream. Definitely added a lot of flavor. I used a shredded mozza and Cheddar mix in the actual mashed potatoes and on top as opposed to the American cheese slices. As well, I used two packages of gravy mix with 2 cups of water instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a very tasty and easy recipe, and my whole family loves it. We don't eat beef, so I substitute ground chicken and only use about 1.25 lbs. Like other reviewers, I find only 2 cans of gravy to be plenty and I use chicken gravy. Everything else I do per the recipe's directions, although if I am feeling lazy, I will use onion powder instead of chopping up an onion. It still tastes great and makes this a very quick and easy recipe! I also find that it only needs about 20 minutes in the oven to melt the cheese the way we like it (we don't like it too browned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States