Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
My family loved this! It was a great way to use some left over mashed potatos and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Great recipe - although I made a few changes....I made up my own mashed potatoes and used shredded cheese instead. I also used a packet and a half of the powedered mix for my gravy. It made about 1 1/2 cups - it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is the only dish my husband has ever said he would eat for left overs. The only change I made was using brown gravy powder which kept it from being too juicy. This is a fantastic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bever

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
It's impossible to go wrong with this combination of ingredients! It's really good. I used this recipe as a suggestion and just made fresher choices on the ingredients. I made fresh buttermilk mashed potatos (8 softened in beef broth then whipped with buttermilk)and used fresh corn, fresh green beans, and organic shredded Cheddar. I used just over a 1 lb of meat and 1C of homemade gravy. That was plenty! It was a very successful meal and made enough for at least 2 more dinners for me and my husband. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
WARNING!!! This recipe has something wrong with it! DON"T use 4 cans of gravy and DON"T use 2 pounds of beef! It makes WAY TOO MUCH and does not all fit in the 9x13 baking dish! I wasted money making this. It is also very bland and came out like stew. The mashed potatoes also were not enough to cover the whole dish and were too thick to spread. Definitely needs some spices and more ingredients for flavor. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I have never made or had Shepherd's Pie, but my boyfriend asked for it and this recipe was pretty good. I really liked it, but I have nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great fast, easy budget dinner! I like to substitute shredded Cheddar for the American slices, and if I have a little extra time, I sub homemade mashed potatoes (using the Traditional Mashed Potatoes recipe). ALso, I tend to use a little less gravy -- more like 2.5 to 3 small cans rather than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I used real mashed potatoes and grated cheddar/mozza cheese for the top. I also used 2 packages of gravy mix, and added 1 package of onion soup mix for flavour, as well as garlic salt. This was my first attempt at shepherd's pie - and it was turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Came out awesome, added additional veggies. It was quick and easy to do after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUKHASA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Rated it low so others will read and be warned. My wife who is new at cooking used all 4 cans of gravy. Although it was still edible and good. It was a goopy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States