Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. It's not "gourmet" by any means, but it's fast, it's easy, and when you have huge appetites to satisfy, it's a great stand-by. Total comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYD2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My boyfriend had been asking for a Shepherd's pie and this recipe was a hit. I made a couple of changes. I made homemade mash potatoes instead of instant. I used 1 1/2lb ground turkey and added Worsechester Sauce (don't tell him) and agree with some of the other reviewers that 2 jars of gravy was perfect. And instead of making it like a casserole I decided to use a pie crust, actually 2 pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made this last night, it was delicious!I added a can of sliced carrots, some worcestershire, and good amount of salt and pepper. I made the potatoes buttery and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Awesome! Easy and super good. I only used 1 lb of beef and 2 packets of gravy. Also used shredded cheese and a garlic seasoning in the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chellci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this using veggie burger crumbles. I used about half the amount of gravy in the recipe, which seemed about right to me. Everyone in my family loved this, so it will become my standard shepherd's pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Truffles
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was a good start, but I used turkey burger and turkey gravy and I made my own mashed potatoes with bacon, cheese and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
home made? What's home made using canned vegetables, package of potato flakes and bottled sauce? That's warming up, not cooking. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made 3 dishes of this for my mom's 50th birthday party (Irish themed). Everyone loved it! It was so easy and everyone thought I put so much work into it. My husband asked me to put it in our normal rotation at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Followed the recipe to the letter and was very good. My first time ever eating shepherd's pie and will make it again. Next time I will add some hot peppers or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Weaver, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was really good. I made my own mashed potatoes, and used two packets of powdered chicken gravy instead of the 4 jars, per other reviews. I turned out really well like this. I found that it was also nice cold! Not gourmet, but good old comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States