Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My husband is a meat and potato kind of guy and this one fits the bill perfectly. I like it cause of the vegtables, I always add carrots too. I just like the colors than in the dish. I have made this a couple times changing the potato and cheeses. Very versatile recipe and have even made it with packaged gravy because that is what I had on hand. I suggest 3 packages though but 2 jars of gravy are perfect. Hope you try this cause it's GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is fantastic! I made this tonight and it was delicious. I used one 16 oz jar of beef gravy and I think that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLARE538

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My SFA student daughter requests this when she comes home. I use real mashed potatoes and shredded cheddar cheese instead of the potato flakes & American cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I like this recipe will make changes though. Will use real potatoes instead of instant. Only 1 can of gravy for 1 lb of meat. And you deffinitely have to season the meat. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Oh so yummy. I assembled it a little differently and halfed the recipe because there were far less mouths to feed that night. I did only use one can of gravy or it would have been too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristenB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was delicious. I listened to the other readers and didn't use as much gravy. Also, I didn't think it was necessary to put cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was excellent! I did make a couple of adjustments, as the 4 cans of gravy made it extremely soupy. I just used one can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 small can of brown gravy, and that was plenty! Also, we are not too big on beans, so I replaced those with a package of sliced mushrooms and used shredded cheddar instead of American cheese! It was a huge hit! My boyfriend is a radio talk show host (and also a GREAT cook) and he loved it so much he raved about it on the air several times. Now I am getting requests for the recipe from his listeners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lawrence Creasy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful tasting dish that is fairly easy to cook. I cut the gravy in half and added some seasoning on the ground beef when browning. I've made it several times for several people, and they keep wanting the recipe! I will make this again... and again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
After reading other reviews, I used one package of cheap mushroom gravy, one can cream of mushroom, ground turkey instead of beef, steamed baby carrots and a can of green beans. It turned out great. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was the BEST recipe. My family loved it. They're begging me to make some more! Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Firehouse Shepherd's Pie

Watch the firefighters of New City prepare shepherd’s pie for the crew.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States