Shepherd's Pie Complete Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Way too much gravy and shredded cheddar cheese would have had more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Great recipe! 2 cans of gravy is plenty and so is 2 lbs of meat so I added some baby carrots and asparagus with shredded sharp cheddar on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was very tasty. I cut this in half for only 1 lb. of beef and used dry packaged gravy mix that made 2 cups. I used a frozen peas and carrots blend and some frozen corn instead of green beans. I did add a dab of minced garlic and some kosher salt to the beef during cooking and about 1/2 tsp. Kitchen bouquet to the gravy. I only had a quarter of a Texas sweet onion. The family liked this and like my hubby said you just can't go wrong with meat and potatoes and gravy, so it was a real man pleaser. Thanks Auntrene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was a very good Shephard's Pie. I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception that I used homemade mashed potatoes. Also, after reading the reviews, I cut the gravy down to a little bit less than 2 jars. I shared with some coworkers and they LOVED it. Will def be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I do not give 5 Stars, but I must with this one. The only thing I did was to add potato flakes to thicken the liquid. I also added just a little finely grated sharp Cheddar Cheese to the hot potatoes. Everything else was as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this over the weekend. It was awesome. I added in a can of mushrooms, but next time I think 1 can less gravy it was a little too soupy the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
DO NOT USE 4 CANS OF GRAVY WAY TOO SOUPY. ONLY USE 2 CANS. VERY GOOD THO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Awesome! My family couldn't get enough!! We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am not a fan of Shepherd's pie, but sought a recipe because my husband, who is fussy, likes it. This recipe was GREAT! It was simple and tasty and even "I" liked it! I took the advice of others and only used 2 cans of gravy. I also drained at least 1/2 of the fat while cooking the meat because Shepherd's pie tends to be greasy. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this was soooo good. I made this last sunday night. I substitute the whole kernel corn with cream style corn, and the beans with blanched frozen peas. I couldnt find canned brown gravy so I used a package of Au Jus Gravy and a package of cream of mushroom soup. I mistakenly added 5 cups of water and had to simmer the gravy for more than an hour to reduce the water in it. I also used real mashed potato from Nigella Lawson's show and hide the cheese between the layers of the mashed potato. Couldnt finish it in one night, so I refrigerate and only had the time to finish it last night. my partner licked his plate clean. Somehow, i think that this gets better overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Firehouse Shepherd's Pie

Watch the firefighters of New City prepare shepherd’s pie for the crew.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States