Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
BIG HIT!! I've made it twice in the last week. Once for a potluck (gone in about a minute!) then once for my family. Everyone loved it. GREAT comfort food! Used homemade mashed taters on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made some changes but I'm sure the original would still be awesome. I chopped up some pork I had and used that instead of the ground beef, added more veggies, and used cream of chicken soup because it's all I had. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was my first experience with Shepard's Pie and I loved it! Both my boyfriend and I went back for seconds. I will be making this dish often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe last night. I did have to make some changes as we cannot use Campbell's soup because of the gluten in the creams of mushroom. So what I did was use a gluten free mixture, 4 tablespoons of ketchup, garlic salt and onion powder. I used Italian green beans, canned corn and baby carrots cut up. For the mash I used potato flakes herb and butter flavored. While making it the family had some not so nice things to say, however afterward's they all said they loved it. We will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Super easy and a definite classic comfort food during the winter time! I used peas and corn and added a little crumbled bacon to the meat mixture. Not the lowest calorie/fat meal, but once in a while this is necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
First try at Shepherd's Pie and my husband LOVED it! Said it was the best thing he'd ate in a long time (and he always tells me he likes my cooking). I used ground turkey and browned it with the onion, 3 or 4 teaspoons of minced garlic and a teaspoon of seasoning salt. I threw in a cup of corn, and added a scant layer of shredded cheese between the meat and potato layers, then added about a cup of sour cream to the potatoes. YUMMY! I'm definately adding this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used corn instead of peas and carrots and real mashed potatoes instead of the instant. My husband and I LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was great, I am just starting to get into cooking and it turned out great. It was just a little too moist, but still delicious. I made some changes: mashed potatoes from scratch, added about 1/4 cup of corn and 1 garlic clove. The mashed potatoes turned out great, not too dry, not too moist, not sure what caused the dish to be a little too moist. I also did not add milk since I didn't use instant mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very Good! Quick and easy. I did not use instant potatoes, just some mashed that I had left over. All in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
good! I don't like peas, so I substituted green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States