Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We loved this, and my teenage son came back for seconds. Ok, so what else is new? But he really liked it a lot. What I did differently: I added a cup of mushrooms to the beef and onion in the first step. I used a tablespoon of red wine vinegar instead of ketchup, added a dash of sea salt. I used a cup of frozen mixed vegetables and I completely forgot to add the milk. I had no instant mashed potatoes on hand, so I cooked in the same pan until bubbly and served it over really thick slices of whole wheat toast. It was a hit and I look forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very tasty! A true comfort food. I substituted a 16oz package of mixed frozen veggies for the frozen peas and carrots. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I thought Shepherd's Pie would be too complicated for this meat & potato cook. But I was wrong. I used leftover carrots and corn, added garlic and a little rosemary that i had in the freezer and threw some cheese on the top. My other half had 2 helpings and is thinking he should have some more. And he's the skinny one. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was very good .It finished right away .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent comfort food recipe - easy and quick. I didn't have any frozen veggies, so just used a jar of homecanned green beans and half a can of corn. Also used real mashed potatoes instead of instant, and ground turkey. Will make again - was a hit on a cold, snowy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
It was Ok, a little bland but very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordenke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made this last night for supper and my husband, son and I loved it! I just ate the leftovers for lunch and it was just as good. Some changes I made include: added salt & garlic powder, used some leftover shredded beef roast (for part of it and ground beef for the rest-divided), used fresh carrots and leftover peas, used cream of celery soup. It was just one of those meals that came together with use of whatever I had...and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
We LOVE this recipe. It is always a guaranteed hit. I've used tons of different vegetables in it too. Sometimes I double the mashed potatoes and put it in a slightly bigger baking dish. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
We all enjoyed this. No one guessed that the secret little oomph was the ketchup. It gave it a nice tang. Yummy, simple, hearty (though I did add cheese too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this for my family and we all really liked it. I followed it pretty closely to the recipe except for adding a few more veggies (corn and french cut green beans). It was yummy and I REALLY liked the addition of the ketchup. I don't remember exactly how much I used, but I think I at least doubled the ketchup. I also added garlic powder and some seasoned salt. Very good... I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States