Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used corn instead of peas and carrots and real mashed potatoes instead of the instant. My husband and I LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Maybe it was me, and my taste buds, but I did not care for this. I've made another Sheperd's Pie recipe from Utah, and it's so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe last night. I did have to make some changes as we cannot use Campbell's soup because of the gluten in the creams of mushroom. So what I did was use a gluten free mixture, 4 tablespoons of ketchup, garlic salt and onion powder. I used Italian green beans, canned corn and baby carrots cut up. For the mash I used potato flakes herb and butter flavored. While making it the family had some not so nice things to say, however afterward's they all said they loved it. We will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was REALLY easy to make. I have a big family so I changed it a little to meet our needs, and i will still have some to take to work for lunch! 1 lb ground turkey instead of beef (added montreal steak seasoning when browning) Whole bag of mixed veggies instead of 1 cup 2 cans of cream of mushroom 2 tlbs of ketchup a couple splashes of worcestershire sauce I baked it in a casserole dish instead of a pie pan due to the extra volume. Other than that, I stuck to the directions. My family raved about it and my husband said to put it in the "keeper" folder. Thank you so much for this healthy weeknight meal option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Really yummy easy weeknight meal. Though the ketchup sounded weird but added it anyway and it was fine. Used mixed veggies with peas, carrots, and green beans. Also made homemade garlic mashed potatoes (just boiled the garlic with the potatoes and drain and beat when soft). This was yummy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was great, I am just starting to get into cooking and it turned out great. It was just a little too moist, but still delicious. I made some changes: mashed potatoes from scratch, added about 1/4 cup of corn and 1 garlic clove. The mashed potatoes turned out great, not too dry, not too moist, not sure what caused the dish to be a little too moist. I also did not add milk since I didn't use instant mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
BIG HIT!! I've made it twice in the last week. Once for a potluck (gone in about a minute!) then once for my family. Everyone loved it. GREAT comfort food! Used homemade mashed taters on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Great recipe, but needs a little salt in my opinion. I added salt and garlic for that extra "umph". Also, I found that the mashed potatoes were a little dry so I had to increase the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was my first experience with Shepard's Pie and I loved it! Both my boyfriend and I went back for seconds. I will be making this dish often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made some changes but I'm sure the original would still be awesome. I chopped up some pork I had and used that instead of the ground beef, added more veggies, and used cream of chicken soup because it's all I had. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States