Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was good! I changed a few things though. I threw in some chopped garlic with the beef and onions, and seasoned it with salt, pepper, cumin, chile powder, and minced onion. I used 1can corn, 1can peas, 1 can carrots, which I chopped up. And I didn't have cream of mushroom so I substituted cream of celery. Topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I split the recipe in half; making one half with beef, and one half vegitarian for myself. Both were excellent. I accidentally added too much pepper to his, but he said it was great and took the leftovers to work today. Success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was very easy. We did add some corn, use real mashed potatoes, and used ground turkey. It was good, but not great. I did like the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
SCRUMPTIOUS! As suggested by another reviewer I added Lipton onion soup mix. I also added Poultry seasoning as I often use with these sorts of dishes. Oh, and I added cream to both my mashed potatoes & meat (I know, I'm terrible). But it was tasty and not as heavy as the shepherd's pies I've made in the past (even with the cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe, even though I did think the ketchup was a tad weird. It all worked though! I mix it up some times when I make this by using corn, peas, carrots or green beans. My son and husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I liked it but it needed more flavor in some way. I should have used tips from other reviews. I substituted corn for the peas. I did add garlic and paprika to the recipe but it was still a little bland. I also added cheddar cheese to the top for extra flavor. My boyfriend loved it and ate a huge plate of it and went back for seconds so maybe it wasn't so bad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
My family loves this easy to make recipe. I use real potatoes as well and melt some shredded cheese on top. Plus I use corn instead of peas & carrots. Very easy to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was OKAY...not great. Used cream of chicken soup and homemade mashed potatoes...don't think I will make this again. Will have to try different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUL1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was soooo good. I changed it a bit to fit what I had but it still worked out so well. I used a can of green beans, a can of corn, and chopped up some fresh baby carrots. I also added about a teaspoon or so of thyme and I made real mashed potatoes instead of instant. Everyone loved it and we will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Not bad, but very bland. My husband tells me this is what shepherds pie tastes like. Will add some onion and garlic to the meat mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States