Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious and simpler than the other shepherd's pie recipes. I wanted MORE. We used 9 inch round baking pan instead of pie pan. Our potatoes on top were a little thick to try to spread, but no one seemed to care. Also added a little extra ketchup. Yummy. UPDATE: Using extra ketchup in the meat and using Betty Crocker "Loaded mash potatoes" adds a lot of good flavor to this! But I found with the Betty Crocker instant potatoes, you'll need extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Was SOOO good, my Mother-in-law wanted the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is easy and tasty! I added some garlic salt to the meat mixture to add a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was ok...not sure if I cared for the mushroom soup and ketchup combo. But it cooked up beautifully and looked really great & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
my first time making shepherd's pie, and I'm not sure if it's just supposed to be bland or what, but this recipe is very bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylin King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I used cream of celery soup because my hubby does not like mushrooms, added some garlic per another user's suggestion and half a can of cream style corn (I meant to use regular corn, but bought the wrong kind). I also made my own mashed potatoes. It's in the oven right now and I can't wait to dig in after tasting the meat mixture before baking :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Used this recipe and it came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aejefferson1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Absolutely Love it! The family unanimously enjoyed. I boiled 8 large golden yellow potatoes (in substitute for instant potato flakes, milk & butter mixture.) I seasoned (2lbs) ground beef with 3-4tbsp paprika, 1/2 tsp salt, black pepper & a little Mccormicks brand seasoning. In the peas/creamed mixture, I added an extra tbsp ketchup and added creamed sweet corn to the mixture of peas & carrots. (it adds subtle flavor w/o a sweet taste, just right). In a large casserole dish( a little bigger than 9x13) I layered beef, creamed mixture then mashed creamy potatoes and sprinkled w/ cheese. Baked at 400 for 15 minutes. Loved it! Let me add I the creamed ingredients blend seamlessly into this recipe! New Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
It turned out really good. My hubby loved it. I even made some brown gravy the next day & had leftovers! It's the first time i'd made shepherd's pie! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inamo1972

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is really great! I used fresh carrots and homemade mashes potatoes. I used the instant the first time and found them to be way too dry. I also added several dashes of worchestershire sauce. My husband looooves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States