Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I used cream of celery soup because my hubby does not like mushrooms, added some garlic per another user's suggestion and half a can of cream style corn (I meant to use regular corn, but bought the wrong kind). I also made my own mashed potatoes. It's in the oven right now and I can't wait to dig in after tasting the meat mixture before baking :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Used this recipe and it came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aejefferson1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Absolutely Love it! The family unanimously enjoyed. I boiled 8 large golden yellow potatoes (in substitute for instant potato flakes, milk & butter mixture.) I seasoned (2lbs) ground beef with 3-4tbsp paprika, 1/2 tsp salt, black pepper & a little Mccormicks brand seasoning. In the peas/creamed mixture, I added an extra tbsp ketchup and added creamed sweet corn to the mixture of peas & carrots. (it adds subtle flavor w/o a sweet taste, just right). In a large casserole dish( a little bigger than 9x13) I layered beef, creamed mixture then mashed creamy potatoes and sprinkled w/ cheese. Baked at 400 for 15 minutes. Loved it! Let me add I the creamed ingredients blend seamlessly into this recipe! New Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
It turned out really good. My hubby loved it. I even made some brown gravy the next day & had leftovers! It's the first time i'd made shepherd's pie! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inamo1972

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is really great! I used fresh carrots and homemade mashes potatoes. I used the instant the first time and found them to be way too dry. I also added several dashes of worchestershire sauce. My husband looooves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We served this for a church event, and got rave reviews. Folks came back for 2nd and 3rd helpings. However, crowd-sizing the recipe using the tool provided resulted in almost twice as much food as was needed. I believe the original recipe would serve 6 - 8 people, not the 4 as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was SO good and easy! I used real potatoes, and next time I will double the filling. It was my first time making this and my man and I ate the whole thing :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was a very tasty dinner. My husband and I were thrilled with the results. I did use corn instead of the peas and carrots and layered it on the beef. I also made homemade mashed potatos. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Loved the recipe! few changes. I added bacon and saved about tbsp of the bacon grease and sauted the onions,garlic and carrots in this until tender then added chopped mushrooms and adobe seasoning until done. set aside then browned the meat. added tbsp worchestershire sauce then the rest of the ingredients plus peas and corn. for the potato topping I made mashed potatos then add 1 egg handful (or 2) cheese plus handful of parm. cheese mix with spoon top meat mixture add cheddar cheese and progresso bread crumbs bake until brown will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
this is a very good recipe for cottage pie since real shepherd pie is made with lamb NOT Beef but still its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States