Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Haven't had Shepherd's Pie in years! We really enjoyed this. Was simple to put together. Not liking cooked carrots I subbed them with corn. I did have to add more milk, about 1/4 cup, to the potatoes to make them more spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikzilla
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I added garlic, a Sazon seasoning pack, salt & cumin to the meat mixture. I also used Onion & Chive flavored mashed potatoes. Mine needed additional oven time but it turned out awesome! Flavorful and the perfect comfort food. I may add corn next time but glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Amazing recipe!! My husband said it was the best shepherd's pie he's ever had!! I didn't have any instant potatoes so I just made the real thing and topped them with cheddar cheese. Soooo yummy and simple:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
wow! this was a great recipe... it was my first time making Shepherd's pie and it was easy... I improvised with what I had on hand and we have a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is decent, but it isn't great. It is one of the first times I've had Shepherd Pie, so maybe this pie is supposed to be very mild, but it was just not tasty, and it didn't make my mouth water like some of the recipes on here do. It is quick, and it is easy to put together, but it is just rather lackluster for me. I imagine it needs some other spice or flavoring, but I can't say what it might be. I will likely not make it again unless I'm in a tired and just want to throw something together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was good! I changed a few things though. I threw in some chopped garlic with the beef and onions, and seasoned it with salt, pepper, cumin, chile powder, and minced onion. I used 1can corn, 1can peas, 1 can carrots, which I chopped up. And I didn't have cream of mushroom so I substituted cream of celery. Topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I split the recipe in half; making one half with beef, and one half vegitarian for myself. Both were excellent. I accidentally added too much pepper to his, but he said it was great and took the leftovers to work today. Success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was very easy. We did add some corn, use real mashed potatoes, and used ground turkey. It was good, but not great. I did like the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
SCRUMPTIOUS! As suggested by another reviewer I added Lipton onion soup mix. I also added Poultry seasoning as I often use with these sorts of dishes. Oh, and I added cream to both my mashed potatoes & meat (I know, I'm terrible). But it was tasty and not as heavy as the shepherd's pies I've made in the past (even with the cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe, even though I did think the ketchup was a tad weird. It all worked though! I mix it up some times when I make this by using corn, peas, carrots or green beans. My son and husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States