Shemakes Instant Chai Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I also bought a commercial brand of this tea and paid quite a bit. I am so glad I found this recipe when I did, because I wanted more. This is almost identical to the one I bought. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I've been looking for an instant chai recipe and was glad to find this one. It's very good. I doubled the confectioner's sugar. Since I couldn't find vanilla powder, I used French Vanilla flavor powdered non-dairy creamer. I prefer mine fairly strong, so I used 6 heaping tsp. mix in a mug. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Great recipe. I have made this many times. I was unable to obtain vanilla powder so I substituted with Carnation french vanilla non-dairy creamer. I add two 8 oz bottles and also cut the tea back to one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Really enjoyed this. For those of you that can not find Vanilla Powder, try looking for Vanilla Sugar made by Oetker in the baking aisle. It's the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I am totally addicted to Chai, but supporting my habit was getting too expensive! This is a great mix! I doubled the sugar, and increased the amount of mix to 6 teaspoons. I did not have vanilla powder, so I just add a drop of vanilla in! Glad those suggestions were in the reviews! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I am very anxious to try this recipe but am wondering if someone could tell me what type of "instant tea powder" they used? I am not sure what this is? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
A tip to find some less expensive cardamom: look in the bulk section of health food stores. I found some for $20.49 per POUND, instead of $7 or $8 an ounce in the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I've been buying $8 bags of the chai tea mix from the grocery store and was so glad to find recipes on this Web site. I tried another chai tea recipe first and it was good, but not quite the same as the store-bought. I tried this recipe to see if it was any closer. AMAZING!! I'm very impressed with Nancy for coming up with this concoction. I used French vanilla powdered non-dairy creamer and omitted the vanilla powder. It tastes just like the mix I USED to buy - from now on, I'll make my own using your recipe. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
i made this to give to my brother and grandmother as a christmas gift. i alway try things before i package them up, and i was truly blown away by this tea! the flavor is incredible, and it is so smooth! i ended up making a whole batch for myself! way to go, nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a really good chai tea and a great alternative to paying $10 for the "home party" mix. I used fat free french vanilla coffee-mate and decafinated instant tea. I have had numerous requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States