Shemakes Instant Chai Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Great recipe. I doubled all of the spices as well as the brown sugar and I make the tea using half water and half milk. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very good. I make mine with hot milk and it tastes like the chai I get at my local coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I am a Chai Tea addict! I couldn't find vanilla powder so I used French vanilla non dairy creamer. I couldn't find instant tea powder so I used the granules. I liked this recipe almost as good as the other on this site. This needs to be a tad more sweet for my taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe. I tried this one and the other one, and I prefer this one better. Probably the confectioners sugar in this one. The changes I made: I used French Vanilla Creamer instead of regular, no vanilla powder. I used all the suggested spices, but I'm going to omit the ginger, and the cloves, was a bit too spicy for me. I think this is because my instant tea is flavored with all the spices mentioned in this recipe. Don't want to go for overkill. I did double the confectioners sugar, and I added a titich of nutmeg. I'm also gonna add some cocoa powder next time around. Great base. Thanks for posting!!!! Necia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I really like this recipe. I know there are people out there who think "Instant- yuck!" but my guess would be they wouldn't even be looking here. I was making "fresh" chai every day because I was hooked and it was a hassle- I like that I can take this to work. I did make some changes to this, but it deserves a 5 anyway because the recipe is a great starting point to adjust for your own tastes and some of the changes I made were for convenience alone. I do not have cardamom, unfortunately, so I left it out. I also left out the dry milk powder- the first time I made this, I thought it gave it a bad aftertaste, which most instant dry milk powders have, and since it is petty hard to get non-instant dry milk anymore, you might want to taste it before you add it to all your other ingredients. I just added a little more creamer. I also substituted 1 cup vanilla creamer for 1 cup regular and left out the vanilla powder, which can also be hard to find. Lastly, I ADDED 1/2 t salt and about 1/4 t ground white pepper to give it some kick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This was quite good. After reading the reviews I used vanilla non-dairy creamer too. Mixed it up and gave it a try then decided I like mine stronger and sweeter so doubled the brown sugar and put 3 tablespoons mix in 8 oz water. Gave that a taste and decided I like it creamier so added another cup of creamer. It's a great all around recipe that can be changed for personal taste. Mix it up then tweak it like you like it.OH MY! I won't be buying the expensive home party version any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a really good chai tea and a great alternative to paying $10 for the "home party" mix. I used fat free french vanilla coffee-mate and decafinated instant tea. I have had numerous requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
i made this to give to my brother and grandmother as a christmas gift. i alway try things before i package them up, and i was truly blown away by this tea! the flavor is incredible, and it is so smooth! i ended up making a whole batch for myself! way to go, nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I've been buying $8 bags of the chai tea mix from the grocery store and was so glad to find recipes on this Web site. I tried another chai tea recipe first and it was good, but not quite the same as the store-bought. I tried this recipe to see if it was any closer. AMAZING!! I'm very impressed with Nancy for coming up with this concoction. I used French vanilla powdered non-dairy creamer and omitted the vanilla powder. It tastes just like the mix I USED to buy - from now on, I'll make my own using your recipe. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Great recipe. I used french vanilla creamer instead of vanilla powder and corriander instead of cardamon. Messy to make but great taste. Can't wait to make as a holiday gift. Thanks for all the ratings before - great ideas =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States