Shells with Bacon and Beef Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kevin hall
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Cooked as the recipe says. When I mixed the pasta together I used less noodles than called for. Turned out great. Liked the sauce! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added more spices to the meat to make it spicy (crushed red pepper, chives, black pepper). It was awesome. I also didn't use that much bacon. It was simple and easy but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Alright, I changed this quite a bit, but I still used the same ingredients. I browned the beef, and then threw everything into the slow cooker on low for four hours (I'm a huge fan of my slow cooker, so I use it whenever possible). I added a good dash of Worcester sauce (love the stuff), about 1/4 cup of some leftover BBQ sauce (it NEEDED to be used somewhere), a dash of red pepper flakes, a can of Hunt's diced spicy red peppers in place of the tomato sauce (didn't have any), omitted the salt, and used rotini because I was out of shells. I only had Hormel real bacon pieces on hand, so I added those to the slow cooker in the final 10 minutes of cooking. When the pasta was cooked, I drained and rinsed it under cold water before I added it to the meat mixture in the slow cooker. The end result was fabulous; a hint of sweet from the BBQ sauce, and a bit of heat from the red pepper flakes and tomatoes. Thanks Alle (sorry for all the modifications!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Simple, quick, and delicious. I had everything on hand, and made a fast, delicious meal for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelaO
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I added some paprika, a bit of cider vinegar and a roux sauce before i added my shells. It is a VERY good "football sunday" meal!!!! I am going to make some jalapeno cornbread to go with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Quite plain, but the family enjoyed it. Kids love pasta. Added an extra tin of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Thanx to Pam's blog I decided to try this recipe and I must say I'm glad I did! I really liked the sauce, it was full of pure flavors, the tomatoes, the beef, the bacon... I gave this recipe 4 stars, because it needs a little kick, something to spice it up a bit. But definitely added to the recipebook and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I=Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
MADE AS PER RECIPE , WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ADDING MUSHROOMS... VERY BLAND AS WRITTEN.. ADDED MORE SPICES.. FOR ME 1# OF PASTA IS MORE THAN ENOUGH.. MINE WAS DRYING OUT AND I HAD TO ADD ANOTHER CAN OF TOMATOES TO IT.. OH, AND PLAN TO FEED LOTS OF PEOPLE, IT MAKES A POT BIG ENOUGH FOR THE SALVATION ARMY.. THANKS FOR LETTING ME TRY YOUR RECIPE.. OTHERS MAY HAVE BETTER LUCK.. SO PLEASE TRY IT YOURSELF...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a good, hearty meal. The sauce is four stars as written. After tasting it, I added freshly ground black pepper, and fresh parsley, oregano, and basil. Though the directions don't say to, I drained most of the grease from the bacon mixture before adding it back into the sauce. I served this with a green salad and Mushroom and Cheddar Batter Bread by Cat Lady Cyndi. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States