Shelli's Lemon Pepper Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
We had this recipe tonight. It is fantastic. Make sure you add enough pepper. I peppered both sides of the cat fish also. I also used a yellow onion chopped small. I had chopped garlic in a jar so I put in a heaping tablespoon. Serve with rice and corn. Put rice on plate, add some pan juices, add cat fish on top then add more pan juices from pan on fish then put corn on top. Oh it is so yummy. I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Really good! The sauce goes really well with the fish. I did a lot of compromising but it was still great! No words, just try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I user regular yellow onions. It was fabulous sauce!! Other than onions, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My husband really liked it! Its really quick and easy too. I didnt have any brown sugar so I used 2 tablespoons of white sugar insteajavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')d. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yes I tried this and I liked followed almost didn't have green onion used yellow the only thing I changed was chicken broth to stretch sauce and it comes out well.I think this recipe would do well with chicken or pork.toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nom^_^nom
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband said that it was perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom^_^nom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is so good! I didn't have any brown sugar so I left it out and I also didn't have green onion so I used regular white onion and added just a pinch of paprika instead which added a little kick to it! With out the sugar the lemon stands out but I served it over plain white rice to balance out the intense flavors. Overall, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Just right! Not too lemony, not too sweet. After asking how in the world I had made such a great sauce, my husband couldn't believe that the lemon and sugar, with a little butter, oil, garlic, and seasonings could be so grandiose to him. He simply couldn't stop informing me how much he loved the sauce on this fish (and it was oh, so easy) - but keep in mind when I say that, even though he loved the sauce, the sauce, as it is written in the recipe, is just thin and runny. If that bothered anyone, they could add some corn starch to the sauce just before serving. THIS WOULD BE GOOD ON RICE, I THINK, SINCE THE SAUCE WOULD DRIZZLE INTO THE RICE. I followed the recipe the first time, and was pleased. Next time I would substitute one small minced onion for the green onions, then garnish the serving platter or the plates with green onions. I'm not sure if I will thicken the sauce ever or not. It might depend on my mood, or how the sauce settles into the rice next time. The dish in and of itself was really yummy as is. For guests I might include some red pepper with the sauteed onion. I had hoped to serve the fish with bread rolls alongside a large salad. That wasn't the best plan since the sauce is really half of the feature with this fish. However, I didn't even get to make the bread and salad. The rest of dinner was just a bunch of half baked ideas here and there using up leftovers, but it was all a hit just because of the fish! Thanks for saving my dinner, Shelli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I didn't use the garlic and brown sugar because I didn't have time to go to the store, but it was still good and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States