Sheila's Perfect Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This sangria came out great! It is a little on the strong side. So,if you are used to the watered down pitchers you usually get at restaurants, you might want to add a little more lemon-lime soda. :)I drank it the way the recipe called for it and highly enjoyed it! I forgot to get the pineapple chunks, so I added a sliced apple and a small can of pineapple juice that I had in the house instead. Make sure that you have a large enough container to fit all of it in also. I used a 2 gallon Igloo spout container for mine. It didn't really come out of the spout well because of the fruit, but it held the contents perfectly and I used a ladle to serve it. Also, make sure your glasses are filled with ice before you pour in the sangria. It took a long time to chill in the refrigerator and if you don't have overnight to do this, the ice worked really well. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A GREAT Red Sangria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
5 stars from the bacholorette party! Everyone loved it! I added a little more rum and marinated the fruit separate; trust me no one was complaning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
i signed up just to rate this! so good. i did it sort of different though. i used mango malibu (on hand) and grand marnier (also on hand). added strawberries and didn't marinate *gasp*. i found all the pineapples and kiwi sunk to the bottom though :( but so so tasty. Also i didn't use as much sugar. all gone! me and 1 girlfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used fresh pinapple instead of canned, Mango rum & Pino Noir..oh so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turttletoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A friend passed on this recipe to me last Memorial Day for a party, and it was such a hit, even though I quadrupled the recipe, we ran out in about 90 minutes! Since then I have made the Sangria another 8 times (baby shower, bbq, block party, etc) and it is always a HUGE hit. Like the other post, it is a lot of chopping and prep, but well worth it. My only suggestion is that if you make a larger batch, it calls for more fruit, which as the liquid gets low, tends to clog the spigot, so have a ladle on hand, or just eyeball the fruit as you are cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I have made this on a few occassions, and it is by far the best sangria i have ever had! a definite party centerpiece for any occassion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinzmomie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!!! I made this for a bbq and it was a hit! Everyone wanted to know where I got the recipe. I added a cup more of the lemon lime soda so the light drinkers could also enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I know that people get annoyed when people rate a recipe they changed, but I only changed a few things out of necessity. I only had non-alcoholic triple-sec, which I substituted for the orange liquor, I didn't want to spring for the coconut rum, so I just used Bacardi Gold in place of that (which meant more regular rum) and the only fruit I used was apples, oranges, limes and lemons. I am on a budget people! It still was super awesome! My husband thought it was just like the sangria at our favorite Spanish tapas resturant where we had our wedding reception. I have tried to make sangria before, but this was the first time it turned out so great. Watch out for the hangover if you drink too much though! It's a killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent!!! We are wine-loving people, & I wanted something different for my parents 50th Anniversary party!!! This was a huge hit!!!! Everyone raved about it!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States