Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
not bad,my wife doesn't like brats so did 1/2 brats1/2hot dogs all very tasty,will do again thanks rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
We wanted to take advantage of one of the first sunny, warm days in Seattle so we grilled out. We were happy to make brats but weren't sure about boiling the brats AFTER we cooked them (we had always boiled them before)... however, to our surprise, this worked very well. Also, we didn't think that 30 minutes to cook on the grill was right... but, he flipped and turned for a good 25 minutes before we thought they were done. The trick is to cook them over the cooler spots and move them around alot otherwise they would have turned into lumps of coal. We were so excited to eat them that we forgot to add red peppers when we were sauteing the onions like we had intended, but we'll try that next time. Also, I'd add more onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I tried a couple other brat recipes from this site and found this one to be my favorite. The onions are super buttery and it was just a tasty brat. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I prefer cooking my brats the opposite way. I boil my brats in beer, onion, garlic & seasoning salt, then I grill them. It seems to hold the flavor a little more. Growing up in Sheboygan, I've always used Johnsonville brats, which living out of state today is conveniently the only kind really available in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
AMAZING!!! My bofriend and his little sis (both born and raised in Sheboygan, WI) absolutly loved it! After I grilled the brats for 30 mim. (until the skin was very crispy), I put them in crock pot and covered with beer sauce! It doesn't really matter how long you keep them in crock pot. They only get bettter with time! Thanks for sharing PBFITZ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very delicious recipe. I am from New York, and I am not big on brats. But my husband loved them. The only thing I did different was I roasted some sliced red peppers separately and added them to the onion/beer mixture. Everyone said that was a nice touch, but again, we are from New York and not experts on brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Excellent! These really impressed a potluck group from St. Louis. After grilling, we cut them in half & soaked in crock pot w/beer, onions, garlic etc. Does not need condiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Being a born and raised Sheboyganite, I was raised on brats (double brat) that is. A brat always has a companion in a semmel roll; hard roll made in Sheboygan and still made locally. I no longer eat brats (too high in cholesterol and family history of colon cancer) but my family enjoys them all year long-grilled outdoors even in a snowstorm. We have many wonderful brat makers in Sheboygan county but one of the finer ones is Miesfeld's-has recieved many awards. Johnsonville is for out-of-towners-really don't know what a GOOD brat is. Always add beer and sliced onions to the cooked brats. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe,I just dont understand the rants about the johnsonvilles there are many local meatmarkets who make far tastier brats than johnsonville I only use them as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If one is in the Midwest or in Germnay, one NEVER EVER puts ketchup on bratwurst. It is considered a mortal sin to put ketchup on bratwurst in Germany!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States