Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Just like I remember it from growing up in Sheboygan County! Although I now live in Lancaster, PA, I still only GRILL my brats, often serve them soaked in beer and ALWAYS insist that they are served on hard rolls. Everyone who has tried them loves them. A couple of additional comments: If they are available in your area, choose only JOHNSONVILLE Brats... a product of Johnsonville in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin. Every serious brat connoisseur knows that no other brand compares. :) Also, a slow cooker or crock pot works great for keeping the brats warm until serving time. When the brats come of the grill, throw them into the slow cooker beer and onion bath until the rest of the food is ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Now, these were some GOOD brats. There was another recipe I had tried from this site, but my Wisconsin born 'n bred hubby liked this one better. We used harder rolls than hot dog buns, and twice the onions. Sure didn't need ketchup or mustard. This is one I was told to file AT ONCE! Thank you, PBFITZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
AMAZING!!! My bofriend and his little sis (both born and raised in Sheboygan, WI) absolutly loved it! After I grilled the brats for 30 mim. (until the skin was very crispy), I put them in crock pot and covered with beer sauce! It doesn't really matter how long you keep them in crock pot. They only get bettter with time! Thanks for sharing PBFITZ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Proof there is more than one way to cook a brat! Our family has always done a low and slow simmer in beer and onions first - usually whatever is on hand mixed with at least one bottle of a Leinenkugel dark , then grill and then toss them back in the beer bath if we are cooking a lot of them. The bun is crucial - a Sheboygan Hard Roll is the ONLY way to eat these - and generously buttered! A good stone ground mustard - NEVER ketchup, and Johnsonville, Meisfelds or Sheboygan Bratwurst Company (they will ship brats AND hardrolls across the US) are the top three. Cold beer and potato salad, Milwaukee Dill's, and a Packer game will make it even more authentic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Being a born and raised Sheboyganite, I was raised on brats (double brat) that is. A brat always has a companion in a semmel roll; hard roll made in Sheboygan and still made locally. I no longer eat brats (too high in cholesterol and family history of colon cancer) but my family enjoys them all year long-grilled outdoors even in a snowstorm. We have many wonderful brat makers in Sheboygan county but one of the finer ones is Miesfeld's-has recieved many awards. Johnsonville is for out-of-towners-really don't know what a GOOD brat is. Always add beer and sliced onions to the cooked brats. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If one is in the Midwest or in Germnay, one NEVER EVER puts ketchup on bratwurst. It is considered a mortal sin to put ketchup on bratwurst in Germany!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Kinda obvious--is it even legal to cook brats any other way? :) Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe,I just dont understand the rants about the johnsonvilles there are many local meatmarkets who make far tastier brats than johnsonville I only use them as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Great change of pace for cooking beer brats. Loved the recipe, dark beer is the best way to go but I have also tried it with cheaper/regular beer and its come out good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Tried this recipe and loved it in every way. We do it just a tad differently and it tastes just as good. Parboiled the brats in water and beer, then grilled them. Put the onions (four large ones sliced) into an aluminum pan with 2 bottles of beer and equal amounts of chicken stock. Put the brats in with this mixture and then put the pan on the grill, indirect heat, covered with foil. Kept the grill at no more than 300' and the brats stayed great for hours! Just increase the amount of onions, beer and stock based on how many brats you need. Call this our "brat tub" and it is asked for at every family outing! Serve it with good cole slaw and great rolls and it's a meal fit for a royal family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States