Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Just like I remember it from growing up in Sheboygan County! Although I now live in Lancaster, PA, I still only GRILL my brats, often serve them soaked in beer and ALWAYS insist that they are served on hard rolls. Everyone who has tried them loves them. A couple of additional comments: If they are available in your area, choose only JOHNSONVILLE Brats... a product of Johnsonville in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin. Every serious brat connoisseur knows that no other brand compares. :) Also, a slow cooker or crock pot works great for keeping the brats warm until serving time. When the brats come of the grill, throw them into the slow cooker beer and onion bath until the rest of the food is ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
As a life long resident of Wisconsin I know this is the ONLY way to make brats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These are great! Johnsonville is the only way to go! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Oh I should have taken a photo like I usually do, but they didn't last long enough to photograph. I used 4 brats with the regular amount of onions and other ingredients and they were gone so quickly you would never have known I cooked dinner. Fabulous recipe and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
We had this for dinner tonight. It was great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Now, these were some GOOD brats. There was another recipe I had tried from this site, but my Wisconsin born 'n bred hubby liked this one better. We used harder rolls than hot dog buns, and twice the onions. Sure didn't need ketchup or mustard. This is one I was told to file AT ONCE! Thank you, PBFITZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Great change of pace for cooking beer brats. Loved the recipe, dark beer is the best way to go but I have also tried it with cheaper/regular beer and its come out good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If one is in the Midwest or in Germnay, one NEVER EVER puts ketchup on bratwurst. It is considered a mortal sin to put ketchup on bratwurst in Germany!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe,I just dont understand the rants about the johnsonvilles there are many local meatmarkets who make far tastier brats than johnsonville I only use them as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Being a born and raised Sheboyganite, I was raised on brats (double brat) that is. A brat always has a companion in a semmel roll; hard roll made in Sheboygan and still made locally. I no longer eat brats (too high in cholesterol and family history of colon cancer) but my family enjoys them all year long-grilled outdoors even in a snowstorm. We have many wonderful brat makers in Sheboygan county but one of the finer ones is Miesfeld's-has recieved many awards. Johnsonville is for out-of-towners-really don't know what a GOOD brat is. Always add beer and sliced onions to the cooked brats. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States