Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
After tasting, I added extra butter and some chicken broth to the beer and onions. I then simmered my grilled brats for ages... the longer they simmered the better they got! I have never tried anything like this with brats but I am a new believer! The brats, along with the simmered onions and beer sauce and a little mustard, were just amazing, I couldn't stop snitching bites long after dinner was over. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These were alright. We tried using with Newcastle Brown Ale. I enjoyed the onions and even added mushrooms and that was really good but I thought there was a funny after taste with it- but I am thinking it may just be the beer since I am not a huge beer fan.. not sure but it wasn't my favorite. Husband thought it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Ahhh, what a beautiful brat this cooks up. Flavorful, tender, moist, perfect. I've made them according to this recipe without the grilling and they're still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
7-30-11: Didn't add the beer, so can't really rate this. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
We thought these were very good. I loved the flavor it gave the brats but something about the beer simmered onions had a bit of an aftertaste to them that I didn't love but I still really enjoyed it! I am sure the beer you use has a huge impact in how the onions come out, but overall this was very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yum, yum, yum...I love my brats! I am, too, from the Sheboygan area and this is the way I make my brats. Now in the South 30 years, we can finally get Johnsonville brats. The only thing wrong is..... we do not have decent bakeries and oh, how I miss a good Sheboygan hardroll for my brat! The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Husband and son really liked these brats. I would fix them again this way. Thanks for sharing the recipe PBFITZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Kinda obvious--is it even legal to cook brats any other way? :) Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Proof there is more than one way to cook a brat! Our family has always done a low and slow simmer in beer and onions first - usually whatever is on hand mixed with at least one bottle of a Leinenkugel dark , then grill and then toss them back in the beer bath if we are cooking a lot of them. The bun is crucial - a Sheboygan Hard Roll is the ONLY way to eat these - and generously buttered! A good stone ground mustard - NEVER ketchup, and Johnsonville, Meisfelds or Sheboygan Bratwurst Company (they will ship brats AND hardrolls across the US) are the top three. Cold beer and potato salad, Milwaukee Dill's, and a Packer game will make it even more authentic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I use Tofurky Veggie Sausage links or Chicken Hot Dogs and an ale instead of a stout and it still comes out really tasty. Kilbasa is the only Tofurky version by us but I hear they have a Brat version too. I also noticed I like them better when they are completely boiled in the beer instead of grilled first. Seriously good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States