Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
After tasting, I added extra butter and some chicken broth to the beer and onions. I then simmered my grilled brats for ages... the longer they simmered the better they got! I have never tried anything like this with brats but I am a new believer! The brats, along with the simmered onions and beer sauce and a little mustard, were just amazing, I couldn't stop snitching bites long after dinner was over. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These were alright. We tried using with Newcastle Brown Ale. I enjoyed the onions and even added mushrooms and that was really good but I thought there was a funny after taste with it- but I am thinking it may just be the beer since I am not a huge beer fan.. not sure but it wasn't my favorite. Husband thought it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Ahhh, what a beautiful brat this cooks up. Flavorful, tender, moist, perfect. I've made them according to this recipe without the grilling and they're still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
7-30-11: Didn't add the beer, so can't really rate this. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
We thought these were very good. I loved the flavor it gave the brats but something about the beer simmered onions had a bit of an aftertaste to them that I didn't love but I still really enjoyed it! I am sure the beer you use has a huge impact in how the onions come out, but overall this was very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yum, yum, yum...I love my brats! I am, too, from the Sheboygan area and this is the way I make my brats. Now in the South 30 years, we can finally get Johnsonville brats. The only thing wrong is..... we do not have decent bakeries and oh, how I miss a good Sheboygan hardroll for my brat! The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Husband and son really liked these brats. I would fix them again this way. Thanks for sharing the recipe PBFITZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Kinda obvious--is it even legal to cook brats any other way? :) Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Proof there is more than one way to cook a brat! Our family has always done a low and slow simmer in beer and onions first - usually whatever is on hand mixed with at least one bottle of a Leinenkugel dark , then grill and then toss them back in the beer bath if we are cooking a lot of them. The bun is crucial - a Sheboygan Hard Roll is the ONLY way to eat these - and generously buttered! A good stone ground mustard - NEVER ketchup, and Johnsonville, Meisfelds or Sheboygan Bratwurst Company (they will ship brats AND hardrolls across the US) are the top three. Cold beer and potato salad, Milwaukee Dill's, and a Packer game will make it even more authentic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I use Tofurky Veggie Sausage links or Chicken Hot Dogs and an ale instead of a stout and it still comes out really tasty. Kilbasa is the only Tofurky version by us but I hear they have a Brat version too. I also noticed I like them better when they are completely boiled in the beer instead of grilled first. Seriously good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States