Sheboygan Grilled Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is exactly how we grilled our brats when I was growing up in Sheboygan back in the 1960's. Now I keep the tradition alive here in Texas. Best way to cook brats!!! Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Tried this recipe and loved it in every way. We do it just a tad differently and it tastes just as good. Parboiled the brats in water and beer, then grilled them. Put the onions (four large ones sliced) into an aluminum pan with 2 bottles of beer and equal amounts of chicken stock. Put the brats in with this mixture and then put the pan on the grill, indirect heat, covered with foil. Kept the grill at no more than 300' and the brats stayed great for hours! Just increase the amount of onions, beer and stock based on how many brats you need. Call this our "brat tub" and it is asked for at every family outing! Serve it with good cole slaw and great rolls and it's a meal fit for a royal family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
We have a family member who wants nothing to do with alcohol, so we use an N/A beer (O'Douls,etc) and we also add butter to the beer & onions. Nothing you'd make a regular meal out of because of all the fat, etc. But every once in a while, they are very tasty! Gotta have the hard roll as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beach Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Sad to say but never add the pleasure of tasting a Sheboygan brat. :( So cannot compare, but nonetheless, these are excellent in bold full flavor! Used Johnsonville brats, grilling 8 - 9 minutes per side, on low heat, turning a quarter turn each time. Ended up with perfectly crisp brown brats, juicy inside. Used Guinness beer and followed recipe exactly. (I did add a few small dashed crushed red pepper flakes). Stirred in a good sized pat of butter when I added the brats to the onion beer sauce. Served on toasted pretzel buns (spread cut side with butter and grilled cut side down until golden brown and toasted.) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I to live in the Sheboygan area, and have had brats since I was a kid back in the '40's. My dad always told me that only brown mustard goes on pork. Being of German decent, I prefer the German Dusseldorf mustard. We love our City Bakery hard rolls that are still made in their brick ovens. Always have to fry an extra brat for the cook to eat right off the grill. The rest of the brats go into the pot with 3 cans of beer and lots of onions and 1/2 stick of butter. Also put any burgers into this sauce too....yummmmm! Sheboygan is known as ther brat capital of the world, and we have a huge brat days that over 50 thousand come down to the park, right after the best parade of the season. It is held the 1st Fri. evening in August and all day Saturday. Come join the fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great! Though do yourself a favor and DO NOT USE STANDARD HOT DOG BUNS!!! You MUST use sheboygan hard rolls, aka semmel rolls. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
dilish!!! me and my mom made this for my dads spechel b-day dinner and we all loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a good recipe, but the brats tend to fall apart after cooking them for so long in the crock pot. It is super easy and doesn't take much assembly time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
We have made many times. Mostly, these turn our wonderfully. A few times, there has been a bitterness to the flavour. Not sure if it's beer selection. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
After tasting, I added extra butter and some chicken broth to the beer and onions. I then simmered my grilled brats for ages... the longer they simmered the better they got! I have never tried anything like this with brats but I am a new believer! The brats, along with the simmered onions and beer sauce and a little mustard, were just amazing, I couldn't stop snitching bites long after dinner was over. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

These kickin’ spiral-cut grilled Italian sausages aren’t just cool-looking.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States