Shearers' Mince and Potato Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Wonderful! Much tastier than regular Shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Lovely flavours needed to part boil the potatoes :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Just had this for dinner - I thought it was lovely though did change the recipe a bit - just had onion, carrots, red peppers fried with lean mince, ketchup and a mixture of herbs. Husband loved it but son gave it a 3/5. It's one for my recipe folder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very greasy, wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this a couple of times. The second time I added extra seasoning as I did find it slightly bland the first time, although my husband liked it. I'll use the recipe again and continue to alter to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was a really good basic recipe that can be easily modify to suit your tastes and get creative with. I used the basic recipe and added carrots and used fresh mushrooms. To give it more kick and flavor, I added about 2 Tablespoons of Frank's hot sauce and some Herbs De Provence, about 1/4 teaspoon of paprika in addition to the Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, salt/pepper. I also added in some irish style pork sausage to the beef to add to the flavors. I drained as much grease as I could before baking. I also added a little more cheese to the cheese sauce and instead of 1 cup of cheese, I used 1 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar and mozzarella. Next time I will add in some asparagus. I put salt/pepper/herbs de provence over the bottom and top layers of potato (and sliced carrots). She doesn't mention greasing the pan, which I did lightly with some olive oil. My husband absolutely loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
very,good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Thanks for an excellent hearty recipe. But based on the previous reviews I made a few changes. I added a few garlic cloves, one vegetable cube, a full cup of tomato sauce and some herbs to the ground beef. When layering in the baking dish I placed the second layer of potatoes (I also added thinly sliced carrots and frozen corn and peas) between the minced meat to help it cook better. I recommend baking this covered for a good hour then removing the cover for another 10minutes. I just had leftovers for lunch and it was better this time round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Thank you! My mum makes this all the time and I'd decided I had to make it for dinner but couldn't find the recipe - not on any aussie sites! Was yummy and very filling. I added garlic to mince and used 2 tbls tomato sauce, skipped the mushrooms and instead of layering cheese sauce I put it on top with a sprinkling of cheese to finish. Microwaved the sliced potato to start to ensure it was cooked and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe worked really well for our family and I have added it to my list of "recipes that work". Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States