Shay's Irish Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was a hearty dish and we were very pleased with the results. The only change I made was to use fresh new potatoes instead of canned since I had them on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Yeah! I love this chili ... I'm from Texas so I usually like the spicy stuff BUT I have kids that don't... finally, I found a good chili recipe that we all like. Great on a cold, rainy day! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is fantastic, comfort chili! My family of all ages loves it, including babies and toddlers. Instead of plain canned diced tomatoes, I use Hunt's Seasoned Diced Tomato Sauce for Chili which really gives the flavor a punch. I also make an enormous batch to freeze and take out as needed, because it does defrost with out losing integrity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nljfairytales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We accidentally bought 1 pound of beef chuck... but not ground. We cut it up into small chunks and it was really good. I liked the texture it added. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I just tried this recipe and I feel like something was left out - liquid. Once ingredients were drained, it turned out looking more like goulash than chili. I decided not to drain the diced tomatoes and after cooking with a lid on for an hour, it became moist and delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
tastes great with about a half or full cup of Jameson Irish Whiskey in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is good soup. Very very close to my grandmother's recipe. She used fresh potatoes and diced them, but otherwise its the same. They often cooked this in a dutch oven hanging over a fire when they camped. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Not when you're in the mood for Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
well liked ... even better with fresh ingredients in stead of canned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
There is something special about this chili! I just made it tonight, and it might be my favorite chili recipe I've ever tried! I followed the directions almost exactly with the exception of substituting Morningstar Farms soy crumbles for the beef, and I omitted the beef bouillon to make the chili vegetarian friendly. It was so easy to make and was low maintenance once it was simmering on the stove. The potatoes added such a nice texture and flavor to it, and the pinch of nutmeg + sugar added just enough complexity to it without making it fall into a Cincinnati category of sweetness. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese and multi-seed flatbread crackers. It will become a staple recipe in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States