Shay's Irish Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Loved the recipe, but made a few minor changes to make it more like a chili and less like a stew. First, I doubled the meat and dry ingredients (spices, sugar etc...), while keeping the wet ingredients the same. I did drain the beans, potatoes and tomatoes, though. On a side note, the picture above seems to show the light beans not mashed...in my version I thorougly mashed them. On a whim I entered my version of this recipe into my office chili competition and won first place. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruzebra
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is a good chili, but as mentioned elsewhere not if you're craving a little heat. I didn't drain the tomatoes (I used herbs and spiced diced) and didn't drain either of the beans, and that was plenty of liquid for this dish. Used ground chicken in deference to the non red meat eater in the house. Also used a large russet and would use two next time, liked the potatoes in the mix. Good eats. Served with grated cheddar and a big dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was a hearty dish and we were very pleased with the results. The only change I made was to use fresh new potatoes instead of canned since I had them on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Yeah! I love this chili ... I'm from Texas so I usually like the spicy stuff BUT I have kids that don't... finally, I found a good chili recipe that we all like. Great on a cold, rainy day! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Stradford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is fantastic, comfort chili! My family of all ages loves it, including babies and toddlers. Instead of plain canned diced tomatoes, I use Hunt's Seasoned Diced Tomato Sauce for Chili which really gives the flavor a punch. I also make an enormous batch to freeze and take out as needed, because it does defrost with out losing integrity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nljfairytales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We accidentally bought 1 pound of beef chuck... but not ground. We cut it up into small chunks and it was really good. I liked the texture it added. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I just tried this recipe and I feel like something was left out - liquid. Once ingredients were drained, it turned out looking more like goulash than chili. I decided not to drain the diced tomatoes and after cooking with a lid on for an hour, it became moist and delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
tastes great with about a half or full cup of Jameson Irish Whiskey in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is good soup. Very very close to my grandmother's recipe. She used fresh potatoes and diced them, but otherwise its the same. They often cooked this in a dutch oven hanging over a fire when they camped. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Not when you're in the mood for Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States