Shawn's Study Snacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am also attending university and was looking for a snack to munch on while studying. This met all my expectations. I followed the advice of another review and added some vanilla extract and a little more flour. I also omitted about 1/4 cup of butter. I didn't have enough walnuts or any raisins but I didn't feel they detracted from the overall taste. Cooking them a little longer (10-15 minutes) would make a more cookie like texture but I enjoyed the soft dough-like texture more. I actually enjoyed these so much I began to eat them as a quick breakfast and for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is a very simple recipe. I did, however, decrease the flour to 2 cups and increased the oats to 2 cups. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I made them into bars instead of cookies. I know I will enjoy them with coffee in the morning. Thank you Shawn Doctor for a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
My Husband and I both enjoyed these cookies and so did the men in his office. Many wanted the recipe for their own use. I did add a couple of things when I made them a little vanilla extract and a touch of salt, and a little more sugar. I did try icing a few with a cream cheese, brown sugar icing and that was wonderful too. They bake up very soft and yummy! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Wow, what a quick, tasty cookie recipe! I added slivered almonds since I didn't have any walnuts, and upped the raisins to a full cup. These cookies taste like slices of banana bread! Really good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I wanted! A soft, slightly moist cookie with a good banana flavor that wasn't too overpowering. I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and an extra 1/2 cup of oats, and they turned out fantastic! Plus, to cut down on clean up, I used the old trick of baking on parchment paper. For busy moms, this is almost a must. Thanks, Shawn, for a simple, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good cookie. I used four small, very ripe bananas, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of white flour. And in half of the cookies, I added a generous handful of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Wow! These are surprisingly tasty! I was pretty skeptical of this recipe, but since I had some bananas that needed used up, I thought I'd make these for my marathon-running husband to snack on after his training runs. However, now that I've tried one, I just hope he gets home quickly or there won't be any left for him! These are really, *really* good!!! I think this just became my new go-to recipe for using up bananas. My changes: I upped the flour to 3 cups and substituted wheat flour for half of that, I changed the sugar ratio to 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar (in hopes that the brown sugar would help "disguise" the wheat flour since I don't usually like the taste of wheat). Next time, I might try using all wheat flour and just 1 cup of brown sugar - no white sugar at all. I also added 1 ts of vanilla and 1 ts of sea salt. I don't like raisins very much, so I split the dough and added about 1-1 1/2 cups chocolate chips to half. I ended up adding about 3/4-1 cup of chocolate chips to the raisin half too because I ran out of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing! I have been looking for a high-energy snack, and most of them taste disgusting... Your recipe is delicious! Our favorite! I spread it out on a jelly-roll pan & cut bars with a pizza cutter. It took longer to bake, but worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Tasty and not too sweet. A nice alternative to use up bananas instead of bread. I imagine you could substitute raisins and nuts with choc chips but I baked recipe as is and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was wondering why no-one had posted a picture of this, and now I know why. It isn't the most attractive recipe. I think it would look better baked in a pan and cut into bars. Very tasty though. Mine were finished before I remembered that I had wanted to post a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States