Shawn's Study Snacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was wondering why no-one had posted a picture of this, and now I know why. It isn't the most attractive recipe. I think it would look better baked in a pan and cut into bars. Very tasty though. Mine were finished before I remembered that I had wanted to post a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
My Husband and I both enjoyed these cookies and so did the men in his office. Many wanted the recipe for their own use. I did add a couple of things when I made them a little vanilla extract and a touch of salt, and a little more sugar. I did try icing a few with a cream cheese, brown sugar icing and that was wonderful too. They bake up very soft and yummy! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I wanted! A soft, slightly moist cookie with a good banana flavor that wasn't too overpowering. I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and an extra 1/2 cup of oats, and they turned out fantastic! Plus, to cut down on clean up, I used the old trick of baking on parchment paper. For busy moms, this is almost a must. Thanks, Shawn, for a simple, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am also attending university and was looking for a snack to munch on while studying. This met all my expectations. I followed the advice of another review and added some vanilla extract and a little more flour. I also omitted about 1/4 cup of butter. I didn't have enough walnuts or any raisins but I didn't feel they detracted from the overall taste. Cooking them a little longer (10-15 minutes) would make a more cookie like texture but I enjoyed the soft dough-like texture more. I actually enjoyed these so much I began to eat them as a quick breakfast and for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Wow! These are surprisingly tasty! I was pretty skeptical of this recipe, but since I had some bananas that needed used up, I thought I'd make these for my marathon-running husband to snack on after his training runs. However, now that I've tried one, I just hope he gets home quickly or there won't be any left for him! These are really, *really* good!!! I think this just became my new go-to recipe for using up bananas. My changes: I upped the flour to 3 cups and substituted wheat flour for half of that, I changed the sugar ratio to 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar (in hopes that the brown sugar would help "disguise" the wheat flour since I don't usually like the taste of wheat). Next time, I might try using all wheat flour and just 1 cup of brown sugar - no white sugar at all. I also added 1 ts of vanilla and 1 ts of sea salt. I don't like raisins very much, so I split the dough and added about 1-1 1/2 cups chocolate chips to half. I ended up adding about 3/4-1 cup of chocolate chips to the raisin half too because I ran out of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very good. Omitted the nuts, and the nice soft texture was perfect for kids with braces. I added almost 1/2 cup more flour to get a good "cookie" texture. Every one loved them, even a picky eater who refuses to eat anything with oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Carriere
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I took another reviewers suggestion and spread the mixture in a baking dish to make bars. I didn't have nuts or raisins so I added half a bag of frozen raspberries. My kids like them a lot and I like the recipe better than standard banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Carriere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I used 1/2 C. white and 1/2 C. brown sugar, threw in an additional 1/2 C. semisweet chocolate chips, cooked for 30 minutes in the 9x13 and voila! Banana bread. Because that's what this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good cookie. I used four small, very ripe bananas, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of white flour. And in half of the cookies, I added a generous handful of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
They turned out to have more of a cake texture than a cookie but the taste was nice. They needed to cook 12 - 15 minutes to cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States