Shawn's Study Snacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
My Husband and I both enjoyed these cookies and so did the men in his office. Many wanted the recipe for their own use. I did add a couple of things when I made them a little vanilla extract and a touch of salt, and a little more sugar. I did try icing a few with a cream cheese, brown sugar icing and that was wonderful too. They bake up very soft and yummy! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
They turned out to have more of a cake texture than a cookie but the taste was nice. They needed to cook 12 - 15 minutes to cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love bananas! I love these cookies! Breadier than most, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very good. Omitted the nuts, and the nice soft texture was perfect for kids with braces. I added almost 1/2 cup more flour to get a good "cookie" texture. Every one loved them, even a picky eater who refuses to eat anything with oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am also attending university and was looking for a snack to munch on while studying. This met all my expectations. I followed the advice of another review and added some vanilla extract and a little more flour. I also omitted about 1/4 cup of butter. I didn't have enough walnuts or any raisins but I didn't feel they detracted from the overall taste. Cooking them a little longer (10-15 minutes) would make a more cookie like texture but I enjoyed the soft dough-like texture more. I actually enjoyed these so much I began to eat them as a quick breakfast and for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Wow, what a quick, tasty cookie recipe! I added slivered almonds since I didn't have any walnuts, and upped the raisins to a full cup. These cookies taste like slices of banana bread! Really good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I wanted! A soft, slightly moist cookie with a good banana flavor that wasn't too overpowering. I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and an extra 1/2 cup of oats, and they turned out fantastic! Plus, to cut down on clean up, I used the old trick of baking on parchment paper. For busy moms, this is almost a must. Thanks, Shawn, for a simple, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good cookie. I used four small, very ripe bananas, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of white flour. And in half of the cookies, I added a generous handful of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The cookies were okay...they seem to have a personality disorder though...they can't decide if they want to be a cookie or a bread. The consistency and texture are not quite that of a normal cookie...Interesting flavor though...i did leave out the nuts and added mini chocolate chips to mine...but BF liked them better with just raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was wondering why no-one had posted a picture of this, and now I know why. It isn't the most attractive recipe. I think it would look better baked in a pan and cut into bars. Very tasty though. Mine were finished before I remembered that I had wanted to post a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States