Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is excellent with CHICKEN! YOU MUST ADD 1/2 to 1 CUP OF FRESH SQUEEZED LEMON JUICE TO THE MARINADE!!!Everyone loved this, and I even impressed the inlaws who are Greek! The cucumber sauce, called Satsiki is delicious! Even my picky teenage son loved this, souvlaki is his favorite! This was really good served on the grilled pita bread with onions, tomato and sauce. Will definately make this and serve it this way over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
i made this for dinner tonight and thought it was missing something...then i saw the comment about adding the lemon juice to the marinade and realized that was what was missing! i made it w/chicken and it was great (once it threw it all back on the skillet and cooked it again w/lemon juice). so dont forget to add 1/2 cup of lemon juice! i used marsala wine too, because it's the only red wine i had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
One word: DELICIOUS Okay, a few more words. Really easy to make, and goes great with tzaziki, some onions, and my homemade pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This dish was fantastic! The marinade was womderful...it took an inexpensive cut of lamb and made it so tender! The skewer went into the meat like a hot knife through butter! And it melted in my mouth! Absolutely delicious! I served it on grilled pita, as suggested. I added shredded lettuce, sliced sweet onion and tomatoes. The yogurt sauce was delicious, too! These souvlakis were better than those served at our favorite Greek restaurant! We had greek salad on the side to help make my big, fat Greek dinner a huge success! Thank you, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Tasty souvlaki, Sharon. Better than our fav Greek restaurant. I used pork and have used chicken in the past. This recipe is great with the tzatziki sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
As good as the "Man with the Cart on the Street" in NYC! And they make great soulvaki! I added the lemon juice as others suggested and served it over shredded lettuce with sliced tomatos, cucumbers and the red onion. I also put out hot sauce with the cucumber sauce since that is what is offered on the "Street". This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I marinated chicken breasts that were cut into pieces that were a little larger than bite size. Used fresh mint for marinade. Did not use skewers...just put the marintated chicken on a grilling tray on the barbeque. Sprinkled a little dried mintleaves as chicken was cooking. Used 1 and 1/2 cups of plain yogurt for the sauce, reduced the garlic using one teaspoon of minced garlic in oil and used 1/2 cucumber. Served as suggested with pita bread and a Greek salad. Yummy meal...will make again...Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
as good as it gets in a restaurant. a definite keeper. used lamb and grilled on skewers. also i halved the yogurt - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
All is used was the sauce, 1/2 it, still made a ton,very tasty. Will use the whole recipe someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States