Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is excellent with CHICKEN! YOU MUST ADD 1/2 to 1 CUP OF FRESH SQUEEZED LEMON JUICE TO THE MARINADE!!!Everyone loved this, and I even impressed the inlaws who are Greek! The cucumber sauce, called Satsiki is delicious! Even my picky teenage son loved this, souvlaki is his favorite! This was really good served on the grilled pita bread with onions, tomato and sauce. Will definately make this and serve it this way over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was nothing like any lamb I have eaten at any Greek restaurant. I marinated the lamb overnight as stated, and was disappointed with the flavor. I have two tips regarding the cucumber/yogurt sauce, and these are: 1. Spoon the yogurt into a coffe filter, and put it somewhere so that the fluid can drain from the yogurt. This result in a firmer, creamier yogurt. 2. Use English/Hothouse cucumbers instead of the regular waxy cukes. Strip the skin off with a vegetable peeler, and then grate the flesh into the yogurt with a cheesegrater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
i made this for dinner tonight and thought it was missing something...then i saw the comment about adding the lemon juice to the marinade and realized that was what was missing! i made it w/chicken and it was great (once it threw it all back on the skillet and cooked it again w/lemon juice). so dont forget to add 1/2 cup of lemon juice! i used marsala wine too, because it's the only red wine i had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Tasty souvlaki, Sharon. Better than our fav Greek restaurant. I used pork and have used chicken in the past. This recipe is great with the tzatziki sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This dish was fantastic! The marinade was womderful...it took an inexpensive cut of lamb and made it so tender! The skewer went into the meat like a hot knife through butter! And it melted in my mouth! Absolutely delicious! I served it on grilled pita, as suggested. I added shredded lettuce, sliced sweet onion and tomatoes. The yogurt sauce was delicious, too! These souvlakis were better than those served at our favorite Greek restaurant! We had greek salad on the side to help make my big, fat Greek dinner a huge success! Thank you, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was so very delicious. I had guests over, and they couldn’t get enough of it. I used chicken instead of lamb, and I added the 1/2 cup of lemon juice to the marinade as others said and it was perfect! Also, on the pita we added lettuce with the onion and tomato. The yogurt sauce was delicious too, but made WAY too much, I would half the yogurt sauce recipe next time. If you like Souvlaki, you will LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
One word: DELICIOUS Okay, a few more words. Really easy to make, and goes great with tzaziki, some onions, and my homemade pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Delicious! I used pork tenderloin instead of lamb. I also drained the yogurt and squeezed out the excess water from the cucumber. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was amazing. My husband and I absolutely loved it. Only change I made was to use balsamic vinegar instead of wine as we didn't have any. The yoghurt/cucumber sauce tasted just like at our favourite turkish restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hjørring, Nordjylland, Denmark
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I have tried this marinade with EVERY possible meat and it is fab-u-lous EVRYTIME. I do not add the wine with chicken and recommend skipping it all together. I have also added lemon as per others suggestions an found it was not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States