Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
As good as the "Man with the Cart on the Street" in NYC! And they make great soulvaki! I added the lemon juice as others suggested and served it over shredded lettuce with sliced tomatos, cucumbers and the red onion. I also put out hot sauce with the cucumber sauce since that is what is offered on the "Street". This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Great recipe! My family requests this recipe often. Suggest draining the yogurt in cheesecloth overnight to make the sauce more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was so very delicious. I had guests over, and they couldn’t get enough of it. I used chicken instead of lamb, and I added the 1/2 cup of lemon juice to the marinade as others said and it was perfect! Also, on the pita we added lettuce with the onion and tomato. The yogurt sauce was delicious too, but made WAY too much, I would half the yogurt sauce recipe next time. If you like Souvlaki, you will LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Better than a restaurant, easy, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Very good. I broiled mine and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Tasty souvlaki, Sharon. Better than our fav Greek restaurant. I used pork and have used chicken in the past. This recipe is great with the tzatziki sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This dish was fantastic! The marinade was womderful...it took an inexpensive cut of lamb and made it so tender! The skewer went into the meat like a hot knife through butter! And it melted in my mouth! Absolutely delicious! I served it on grilled pita, as suggested. I added shredded lettuce, sliced sweet onion and tomatoes. The yogurt sauce was delicious, too! These souvlakis were better than those served at our favorite Greek restaurant! We had greek salad on the side to help make my big, fat Greek dinner a huge success! Thank you, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
One word: DELICIOUS Okay, a few more words. Really easy to make, and goes great with tzaziki, some onions, and my homemade pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
i made this for dinner tonight and thought it was missing something...then i saw the comment about adding the lemon juice to the marinade and realized that was what was missing! i made it w/chicken and it was great (once it threw it all back on the skillet and cooked it again w/lemon juice). so dont forget to add 1/2 cup of lemon juice! i used marsala wine too, because it's the only red wine i had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is excellent with CHICKEN! YOU MUST ADD 1/2 to 1 CUP OF FRESH SQUEEZED LEMON JUICE TO THE MARINADE!!!Everyone loved this, and I even impressed the inlaws who are Greek! The cucumber sauce, called Satsiki is delicious! Even my picky teenage son loved this, souvlaki is his favorite! This was really good served on the grilled pita bread with onions, tomato and sauce. Will definately make this and serve it this way over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States