Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I made this for my husband and he loved it. He said it is the best lamb dish he has ever had, even at any restaraunt. For the marinade, I used burgundy instead of red wine and didn't use the black pepper. I marinated it overnight. For the yogurt sauce, I halved the recipe (and there was still plenty), used an English cucumber and 1 garlic clove (since my husband has bad acid reflux). I didn't add the salt and pepper either. Instead of using pita bread rounds, we made the "Naan" bread recipe off of this site. My husband LOVED the taste combination of the lamb, dipped in the yogurt sauce, and eaten with the Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
hi I used pork with a tzatziki sauce -fabulous on pita with onions and tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thessalon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Godfrey, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Lovely recipe. The lamb looked amazing after being left over night to marinate. I made it exactly as per the recipe and it was just lovely. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I used pork tenderloin instead of lamb and marinated it overnight. Served it on a plate (skipped the sauce and pita) with orzo, asparagus, and roasted red peppers. My greek boyfriend loved it, (and said thanks for the delicious dinner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Daine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The meal was very good with the meat tender and flavoursome. I added the lemon juice as recommended. I found the red wine flavour quite strong and made it taste different to the souvlaki flavour I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipes lives up to its name - definitely scrumptious. The marinade is perfect and would work well with beef also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was nothing like any lamb I have eaten at any Greek restaurant. I marinated the lamb overnight as stated, and was disappointed with the flavor. I have two tips regarding the cucumber/yogurt sauce, and these are: 1. Spoon the yogurt into a coffe filter, and put it somewhere so that the fluid can drain from the yogurt. This result in a firmer, creamier yogurt. 2. Use English/Hothouse cucumbers instead of the regular waxy cukes. Strip the skin off with a vegetable peeler, and then grate the flesh into the yogurt with a cheesegrater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very good, my whole family loved it, as good if not better than what one would find at a authentic Greek restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy M B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Delicious! I used pork tenderloin instead of lamb. I also drained the yogurt and squeezed out the excess water from the cucumber. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I haven't tried this w/ lamb, but it is wonderful w/ chicken. I've made it multiple times & have successfully substituted white wine in the marinade when it was all I had on hand. Out of personal preference, I reduce the garlic in the tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States