Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this on Saturday and I must say that I definitely loved the cucumber sauce (will make again) but was not impressed with the grilled lamb. I've been in the middle east and this didn't taste like anything I've ever had. It didn;t even taste Greek to me. The only thing I could really taste was the red wine. I too followed others advice and added lemon juice but it still didn't do much for the flavor. I t wa stender but that's about it. Next time I am going to cut the red wine in half; add the lemon juice again; slice up some red onion and add some extra spices (including extra garlic) that are not included on this recipe and then let it marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
pretty good! but i added a tbsp of balsamic vinegar for a more tangy taste ;) will do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gallagurl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Sounds great! If you use waxed cukes - remember to scrape the seed area out with a teaspoon, then grate. helps with the cost effectivness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I loved the red wine marinade, although it might have been a bit too strong for my anglo-saxon parents. (But make sure to use lamb that's not too gamy or else even the marinade won't help.)EVERYONE loved the yogurt sauce, but the recipe as is makes far too much. Even after spending some time in Greece I couldn't tell you how authentic this souvlaki is, but it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Broiled the meat in the oven for 10 minutes since I don't have a grill, and it came out SO GOOD! The cucumber yogurt sauce tasted very authentic, I love dill! Made some flavored long grain and wild rice as a side dish. Follow the recipe, you'll be happy. I used "beef chunks for kabobs" from the supermarket - and didn't add anything extra. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Apparently, this recipe was not like the souvlaki my husband had in Melbourne. 4 cups of yogurt makes a TON of sauce - - 1/4 of that would be sufficient. The lamb was very good with the marinade and the yogurt sauce complemented the lamb well. (Our lamb was a bit tough - - no fault of this recipe, of course.) We enjoyed the sandwiches, just not sure if I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
i have this and the other recipe for souvlaki on this site. i use them both but i have to say, this one is my favorite. the flavors blend so well together. i always use chicken, marinate it overnight and then grill and serve with ziki sauce on pita bread. mmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
We had some leftover lamb after Easter, so I made this souvlaki - fabulous! I will use this recipe again the next time we have extra lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
So very good. Lamb is pretty fatty. I cut all the real fatty pieces off them cubed the meat. Made with a greek salad. My boyfriend loved this recipe. something different and easy to make. Add lemon juice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and a friend, and both loved it! (including myself). I made the marinade the night before, but did not use the red wine in it, and used minced garlic that I had in the fridge, instead of fresh clove. I used diced lamb, and did not put on to skewers, instead I fried in a pan on the stove. It was a little oily due to the oil content in marinade, but I drained it during the cooking process, then cooked a little longer and it turned out beautiful! Next time I will use less oil in the marinade, if cooking on the stove. Yoghurt sauce was yummy, I did not use the dill weed in it. The recipe made heaps of sauce, more than required, so next time I will use 1 cup of yoghurt and 1/4 cucumber, to make for 4 people. What a great mid-week meal for those short on time, especially for hot days, as there is minimal time spent cooking. I served it wrapped in pita bread with the salad, tasted better than any you could buy from a souvlaki shop!! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States