Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving Dinner 2014 and it was awesome. I am a traditional Jamaican and found the recipe quite close to the tasty island treat we know. A couple of deviations; use a fourth less butter and a same portion change for the sugar. It could also take a few more drops of rum as the cake tasted "egg like" a day after it was done. It was a bit oily when baked, and the "cake tester" was quite greasy after testing the cake for readiness. Overall, the recipe is good but remember to put less butter, less sugar, more rum. Also, I used brown sugar instead of the white granulated sugar. Good Luck as you try this recipe. Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Completely burnt around the edges and gooey in the middle. It didn't rise at all, and in fact looks like it fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe! My family loves it. I add a bit more flour to give it a more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have made this cake twice for a friend that is from Jamaica. He provided the soaked fruits for the cake. Although I have never actually tried it myself, he assures me that it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love this recipe. Came out great except for the 1 cup molasses was too much for me, so next time I did it I used 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Couzin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stay-C
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a great-tasting Jamaican black fruit cake recipe! I have made this twice and both times it was well received. I would like to add some clarifying notes for those who found the instructions vague. 1. The 2 cups of wine that the recipe calls for is what is used to soak the fruit in advance; Do not add another 2 cups of wine when baking or you will have way too much liquid. 2. I soaked my dried fruit (currants, raisins, cranberries, cherries and glazed rinds) in favourite concord wine, white rum, and red label wine for 3 weeks on the kitchen counter. When I was ready to bake, I threw in some canned cherries that I had nothing else to do with and pureed it all in the food processor so that my finished cake would have a homogeneous texture (I don't like chewing fruit pieces in my fruit cake). 3. I added 1-2 tbsp of gravy browning to the batter to make the cake darker. 3. This cake is VERY dense in both calories and texture, kind of like bread pudding. It is not meant to be a fluffy light cake. 4. I baked mine in muffin tins and ramekins to have individual-sized portions. The cake does not puff up like muffins do; mine remained flat and shaped like hockey pucks (see my picture). 5. I used the low-and-slow baking technique and put them in at 250F for 90-120 minutes. I also put in a small pan of boiling water on the bottom rack to keep it moist. I added a picture to show what mine looked like; sorry for the lack of presentation; was in a rush :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a great cake. No added wine but i did soak for two days in rum/wine mixture. SInce the red wine this cake usually uses is a pretty sweet wine, it stand more sugar is your using a dry wine. I wish i added a half cup more sugar though. Still a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe is definitely the one! This will be my go to recipe from now on. It is the best fruit cake I have tasted and my husband who is quick to remind anyone that my mother-in-law's fruit cake is the best was more than impressed and asked if I planned on making another one soon-which says a lot on his part. It was moist, with great texture and extremely tasty. I took the suggestion of another reviewer who separated the yolks from the whites and then folded in the whites later on and I also just used raisins instead of mixed fruits. I chopped the raisins in a food processor and soaked them in wine at least 48 hours before baking. I used this wine in which the raisins were soaking for the 2 cups required in the recipe. I highly recommend this recipe because it is the best fruit or black cake as we Caribbean folks refer to it as that I have tasted. Thanks Sharon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've used these recipe several times. I was honored to be able to prepare it for my grandmothers funeral as this was one of her signature desserts. I felt so proud to be able to prepare it with her soaked fruits and getting props from all the elder Jamaican family members and loved ones that been baking from childhood. This is a great recipe with a little altering here and there to suit your desire I am well pleased. I also roll out a thin sheet of almond paste after soaking the cake and cover it with it then apply royal icing just like in the islands. -I prepare this cake with joy in my heart and a smile in my face :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Ok, it's almost like my mothers. Made it for Christmas but I add a little browning to give it a darker look and blended the fruits. Great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States