Sharon's Jamaican Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love this recipe. Came out great except for the 1 cup molasses was too much for me, so next time I did it I used 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Couzin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stay-C
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a great-tasting Jamaican black fruit cake recipe! I have made this twice and both times it was well received. I would like to add some clarifying notes for those who found the instructions vague. 1. The 2 cups of wine that the recipe calls for is what is used to soak the fruit in advance; Do not add another 2 cups of wine when baking or you will have way too much liquid. 2. I soaked my dried fruit (currants, raisins, cranberries, cherries and glazed rinds) in favourite concord wine, white rum, and red label wine for 3 weeks on the kitchen counter. When I was ready to bake, I threw in some canned cherries that I had nothing else to do with and pureed it all in the food processor so that my finished cake would have a homogeneous texture (I don't like chewing fruit pieces in my fruit cake). 3. I added 1-2 tbsp of gravy browning to the batter to make the cake darker. 3. This cake is VERY dense in both calories and texture, kind of like bread pudding. It is not meant to be a fluffy light cake. 4. I baked mine in muffin tins and ramekins to have individual-sized portions. The cake does not puff up like muffins do; mine remained flat and shaped like hockey pucks (see my picture). 5. I used the low-and-slow baking technique and put them in at 250F for 90-120 minutes. I also put in a small pan of boiling water on the bottom rack to keep it moist. I added a picture to show what mine looked like; sorry for the lack of presentation; was in a rush :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a great cake. No added wine but i did soak for two days in rum/wine mixture. SInce the red wine this cake usually uses is a pretty sweet wine, it stand more sugar is your using a dry wine. I wish i added a half cup more sugar though. Still a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe is definitely the one! This will be my go to recipe from now on. It is the best fruit cake I have tasted and my husband who is quick to remind anyone that my mother-in-law's fruit cake is the best was more than impressed and asked if I planned on making another one soon-which says a lot on his part. It was moist, with great texture and extremely tasty. I took the suggestion of another reviewer who separated the yolks from the whites and then folded in the whites later on and I also just used raisins instead of mixed fruits. I chopped the raisins in a food processor and soaked them in wine at least 48 hours before baking. I used this wine in which the raisins were soaking for the 2 cups required in the recipe. I highly recommend this recipe because it is the best fruit or black cake as we Caribbean folks refer to it as that I have tasted. Thanks Sharon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've used these recipe several times. I was honored to be able to prepare it for my grandmothers funeral as this was one of her signature desserts. I felt so proud to be able to prepare it with her soaked fruits and getting props from all the elder Jamaican family members and loved ones that been baking from childhood. This is a great recipe with a little altering here and there to suit your desire I am well pleased. I also roll out a thin sheet of almond paste after soaking the cake and cover it with it then apply royal icing just like in the islands. -I prepare this cake with joy in my heart and a smile in my face :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Ok, it's almost like my mothers. Made it for Christmas but I add a little browning to give it a darker look and blended the fruits. Great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have been using this recipe for the last 3 to 4 years to make Christmas cake. Thank you Sharon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Suprisingly Good!!! So after looking at many different jamaican fruit cake recipe I finally decided to go with this one as it had the most positive review and i must say I am VERY impressed! As other reviews suggested I added about an extra 3/4 cup of Flour and the cake come out perfectly, moist with a good crumb. Baked it in a 23cm/9inch tin and still had some mixture to spare. Baked in the oven for 1hr 20mins on 160c then turned down to 140 half way through. I didnt coat the cake with rum after as i love the crisp crust of the cake together with the moist inside..ahh its just delighful! Give it a try! thanks Sharon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
i have used this recipe for the past 6 years...my husband gets this every year for bday! I don't eat it but he loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is it. the taste is very authentic. With this recipe, I win the christmas cake battle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States