Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I have made these 3 times and each time had great results. Rave reviews too! I did use butter instead of margarine. I really like the fact that you don't have to refrigerate them before rolling - a real time saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
These were great. Probably some of the best cookies I've ever made. I did a couple of things different. I used cake flour as opposed to all purpose. I dropped them top first into a mixture of sugar and cinamon before setting them on the pan. And finally, I didn't shape them. I simply chilled the dough and used a tablespoon to drop blobs of them onto the pan. They came out very light, fluffy and cakey. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Absolutely the BEST "sugar" cookie we have ever tried! Sililar to the soft butter cookies from the grocery store bakery and almost identical to the fudge topped Berger's Bakery cookie in Maryland!! Don't know what John did to mess them up (poor review)- but bet he would change his mind if they were made correctly- YUMMMMMM! All 8 of my kids beg for these to be made- we top them with marshmellow fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
these cookies were really good. im only 13 and i had no trouble making the cookies(im not good at cooking). i had some of my friends try them and they all wanted the recipe. after i backed them i added a little sugar and cinnamon on the top and that made it taste really good. you defenitly hv to try these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is exactly the kind of sugar cookie I want! It's thick and chewy and soft and sweet and vanilla-y! These are great to eat by themselves or with frosting. My only complaint is that 3 cups flour was not enough for me. I had to flour the board quite a bit to be able to handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were okay, a little too salty for a cookie but edible. I tried to roll them out but they were way too sticky. Definitely not a cut out cookie recipe. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and they were so sticky they wouldn't let go of the scoop. They became deformed balls, so I had to put in the fridge for an hour and then make them look like balls. I will never make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made them last night and today they are still soft, chewy, and delicious. I put a little food coloring in the dough and then put it in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes. They were the perfect consistency for rolling out. I used my heart-shaped cookie cutter and have beautiful pink hearts for Valentine's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a really easy, great to roll and cut out cookie!!! Thank you for posting this, I made this recipe twice, the first time I followed as directed, the second time I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 shortening, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1 Tbs. Vanilla, 1 tsp. lemon juice, and they turned out great a second time. Hubby and son loved them, I am frosting and decorating them, and will be freezing them for Christmas, I am sure they will be great! -Crystal Seaman (Pennsylvania)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very nice! I was looking for a good basic cookie base, for chocolate chip cookies and such, and this one works well. I used baking powder, instead of soda, because I don't like the taste of soda. Also, I miss read the amount and ended up putting in a teaspoon of baking powder instead of a half. Other than that, I didn't change anything. Right before I put them on the trays, I added have a package of chocolate chips, and some smarties for colour. They turned out fantastic; the texture is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Fantastic alternative to gingerbread cookies. My kids thought that they were awesome decorated.Very quick and easy and the children can help with this recipe. Thankyou!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States